Skip to content

Jazzy

October 29, 2012

Many years ago, when I was at university, my friend introduced me to a type of music called Jazz. Now, I had heard of Jazz before, done Jazz dancing as a child, but had never been exposed to it in that way – I would go to see his band play, listen to artists I had heard of but not heard their music, and to artists who were totally new.

It was a wonderful introduction to a new world of music, and since then, my fondness for Jazz has grown.

Last week was the Suriname Jazz Festival. When I heard about it, I was excited, and a bit surprised – a Jazz festival here? Apparently this year’s was the tenth! What surprised me more was that I ended up going to events on four of the nights. Suffice it to say, I’ll go to bed early tonight.

The festival was sponsored by a whole host of local companies and by the U.S. Embassy, so I got to see a few people I knew and meet a few others. One of the groups (Metta Quintet) came from the U.S. to perform at the festival. It was a good week, spent with good music and fine people.

Choro e Livre, from Brazil

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. Binah da Costa permalink
    October 30, 2012 9:51 am

    It was good there, good drinks and good music! See you next year, same time same place?

Leave a Reply

