Skip to content

Taking the good days

March 5, 2012

After last week, when the act of communication seemed to pose some difficulty, today felt like one of the days where you place a big check in the “win” column.

More than a year ago, I went with one of the librarians to PEPFAR training in Kiev, and afterward tried to write a program for a PEPFAR grant. Unfortunately, there was little enthusiasm for the my program idea, and things went on the back burner. After I returned from my sojourn in Thailand, the library brought up the training idea I had tossed their way before going to Thailand. So after a few e-mails and phone calls, I got a trainer committed to coming to the library, and today was the first day of two one-day training sessions.

So far, we have trained 26 people. Or 19, depending on how you look at it. Twenty-six people came in the morning, and 19 returned to the second half of the training after lunch – not bad odds for Ukraine. They all responded well to the training, and all had positive things to say at the end of the day. Tomorrow is day two. The only real challenge of today is that the whole training was conducted in Ukrainian…I know the vocabulary in Russian. Ah well, small victories – I was not the one conducting the training after all, just helping.

This came on the heels of a successful day on Saturday. I helped my friends explain the subtleties between the different modal verbs. Every week I realize what a challenge English is for foreigners to learn – from phonetics and pronunciation to modal verbs and all of the different tenses. I told my friends that I was not sure whether it is to their advantage or disadvantage that I am one of those English speakers who is rather precise with how I use the language, both when speaking and when writing.

So there is the good news. The bad news is it is still snowing. It has been snowing nearly every day for a week – not huge amounts, but still…in my eyes, it is time for the snow to melt and for Spring to arrive. I hear the birds singing hopeful songs, but the warmth is not arriving. Ah well, you can’t have everything, right?

One Comment leave one →
  1. R. Strina permalink
    March 13, 2012 6:15 pm

    Hi Karin,

    As I have been following your posts, I’m always surprised how few comments get posted 😦 I know that I haven’t commented on all of your posts, but I’m writing one now! I’m ashamed to admit that I didn’t even know there was such a day as International Women’s Day – only to be approached at work by someone, who wished me a Happy Women’s Day and even offered me a piece of cake in celebration of Women’s Day! So, it’s nice that your students appreciate you & your efforts – the bouquet does look nice! Getting excited to come back? A friend of mine was in Ghana for 6 months and is coming back tomorrow, March 14th – she had a blog site & posted msgs., too…

    Sending many greetings, Renate 🙂

Leave a Reply

