Skip to content

Yet more cold

February 9, 2012

For the first time in 30 years, the Black Sea froze in Ukraine.

That’s how cold it is here.

What’s been going on since my last post? Well, a friend of mine braved the weather and visited me (a long overdue visit it was, but she had motivation to come, since I had a gift for her from Thailand). I have been hiding inside, a lot. My friend went out of town so I am staying at her apartment, taking care of her cat and taking advantage of her high-speed Internet access.

I now appreciate why people here wear fur. It is necessary to stay warm when it is this cold out and you have to spend a lot of time outside, walking or waiting for the marshrutka.

I don’t think PETA has a presence here, because everyone understands why fur is necessary sometimes. Sorry PETA. Fur in the US=not necessary. Fur in Ukraine=necessary.

I have been working as well, though nothing has come to fruition in a while – waiting is still the name of the game here – and dealing with process.

The photos I took in Thailand are finally up on Picasa, and it was nice to work with them (with my limited program) and remember the warmth.

Red wine is also my friend lately. Saunas are nice too.

In three and a half months, my service will end and I will leave Ukraine. Thus, I am already conducting a job search and trying to network (I am actually pretty new at networking and feel the idiot for it). Anxiety over that is already strong – I was very traumatized by what happened to me before I came to Ukraine, and really don’t want it to happen again. I cannot help but fear that it will (I hope I turn out to be wrong).

That is pretty much it for the past week or so – trying to survive the cold, wearing three layers plus a coat, and watching to see when the weather will turn.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

