Skip to content

No news is good news?

December 23, 2011

In case anyone who reads my blog is wondering, yes I am still in Bangkok but I have not posted anything in a few days because I have been laying low. After my eight-hour walk, I had seen most everything I was interested in seeing here, and the more I go out and do things, the more money it costs, so I’ve been laying low for a few days. I have spent time at the Peace Corps office and socialized with the other Volunteers who are also here. Last night I convinced a Volunteer who had had knee surgery to go a couple of sky train stops with me for dinner, after which he wanted to see “Mission Impossible 4”.

It was interesting to see a movie here in Thailand. I had been told that the movies are shown in English with Thai subtitles, but the commercials before the movie – those were in Thai. And sheesh, everything from toilet paper to cars – twenty minutes of commercials – COMMERCIALS, not previews for coming attractions.

The movie itself was good, and we had had Mexican food for dinner. We decided to take a tuk-tuk back to our hotel rather than brave the crowds at the sky train station. This was where we made our mistake…

At first, the tuk-tuk driver quoted me a price that was far too high, so I brought it down, and off we went. After about a block, he asked again where we were going, and I showed him on the map. Then he said we had to go the other direction – well, yes we did. So he brought us along for a while, then took a near u-turn and stopped for another consultation. Unfortunately he stopped right next to some garbage cans. After more consultation, and more repetition of our destination, he got it, and then said “too far”. Well, I don’t know if he expected us to get out of the tuk-tuk right there next to the garbage cans on an off street, but we stayed put.

Along the way I told the other PCV with me that it seems every time I go somewhere with him, I end up with an absurd situation. The last time, we went to eat and I had to order FOUR different things before I hit upon one for which they had all of the ingredients. We were laughing at how absurd it was. This time, the tuk-tuk situation.

As the driver was taking us to our destination, he kept looking at me in the mirror (with a bit of a dirty look), then shaking his head and saying “too far”. Well, you agreed to take us there – I told you right away…

We finally got to our destination – to make it easier for him, I had told him the hospital (which is right across the street from the hotel where we are staying).

As for now, I am still waiting for more test results, and trying to enjoy Bangkok but have some itchy feet to get out of the city and do some more exploring.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Erica permalink
    December 24, 2011 9:12 am

    are you really in thailand for medical reasons? your pictures and stories really make it look like you are on vacation.

    • December 25, 2011 9:37 pm

      Yes I am. Being able to enjoy my time here is very fortunate but I am here for medical reasons.

Leave a Reply

