Skip to content

Horses, horses, horses

August 20, 2011

On my horse, Julia, in the sea

It is strange how after two weeks at this camp, I have become comfortable with many aspects of it. The routine they set up, though I do not always like being told when and what to eat, the activities, working with the kids (actually, they are teens). Yesterday we got to change up our routine a little bit with the first outing of this session – horseback riding!

Last session when they went horseback riding, the told me I could go with them, but that I had to pay. My response? If you (to a teacher) do not have to pay, I should not have to pay. So I did not go, and did not anticipate going this time. Well, I was wrong! The other day I was asked if I wanted to go. Of course!

Although I did not have the recommended attire of jeans and tennis shoes/athletic shoes, I wore my cropped pants and sandals (one thing about being here so long is that I realize I should have brought more clothes. Like jeans. I did not anticipate needing jeans and a sweater in southern Crimea in August!).

On our way to the horseback riding place (it’s not a ranch, so I do not know what to call it) we passed some fields with small structures on them. The driver explained that people were told if they have a structure that is two by four meters, they get some land. Or at least that was the gist of what I got. It was interesting to see all of these little structures – some of which even had doors – on the land and knowing that no one does anything with them.

We also passed what I can only call a campground, though I do not think it is officially a campground (do they have official campgrounds here? Or do people just park their car, say “here is where we will put down stakes, and stay there for a while?). The people were camping in an ideal spot, in one way – right next to the water. However, because it is salt water, not fresh, they have no water source. Hmm.

At last we arrived and met the horses. Meaning to take photos of the kids getting on their horses, I went outside the fenced area and was thus chosen as one of the first to get on a horse. Okay, so up I went, camera and all. Adjustments were made, and we got in line to wait for everyone else. And then off we went!

What I did not anticipate was that we would be trotting a number of times. After the first two times of trotting I learned my lesson and put my camera away. I mean, I am okay with the bouncing and riding a trotting horse, but having my camera bouncing around on me, not so much. Luckily, the trotting meant not a lot of photo opps until we got to….

Our group in the water with our horses

The sea! We went INTO the sea with our horses – it was fabulous. One of our guides asked for my camera, as he had more freedom than I did, and rode around, taking some photos of us, including one from above, which shows us all in the sea with our horses, plus the vista behind us.

I must say, these days make the difficult ones bearable. Like the rest of yesterday – it was a bit of a challenge. Fun on the one hand, as I helped one group of students with a photo quest, but it is interesting how just one or two of them can make you want to tear your hair out.

I keep reminding myself that they are teenagers so I understand their behavior. But boy, it sure gives me insight on what parents go through.

I don’t want to give the impression that the kids are awful – they are not. By and large, they are really great kids. But they are teens, like I said, so a few of them like to push the boundaries. Completely normal but for someone without a lot of experience, well, it is a learning one, that is for sure!

Today I also am going on an outing with the kids – back to the Sudak Fortress (it is a different group of kids). Maybe I will see more of it this time…

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Mom permalink
    August 20, 2011 7:36 pm

    Lucky duck……..

  2. August 22, 2011 4:36 pm

    Horses! Yay! Teenagers, not-so-much, but . . . Horsies! Yay! 🙂

Leave a Reply

