Skip to content

Mercury in Retrograde

August 17, 2011

Not long ago, a friend of mine who is very knowledgeable about Astrology, told me to be aware that Mercury was going into retrograde. After experiencing multiple challenges in the past few weeks, I am wondering when Mercury will be OUT of retrograde and things will get back to normal, as I am getting to the point where things NEED to improve and SOON.

What is the significance of Mercury in Retrograde? According to one web site, “As the planet of communication, Mercury retrograde tends to breed a certain level of confusion. Mercury rules our “lower” mind–how we perceive and interpret information that we receive from our environment, and how we relay that information to others. Mercury has rulership over such things as speaking, negotiating, buying and selling, listening, formal contracts, documents, travel, the mail and shipping, and so forth. All of these areas of life are affected when Mercury is functioning in a sluggish state. Decision-making is challenged during Mercury retrograde. Needless to say, it is not advised to sign contracts, engage in important decision-making, or launch a new business. Delays and challenges are more probable with Mercury retrograde.”

According to my friend, it can also help to explain the challenges I have been facing with my computer and such lately. First my hard drive went kaput – I had been having some challenges with it for about a year, but a few days before I came to the camp, I plugged in the hard drive and my computer recognized the drive, but told me I could not use it unless I formatted it. Um? Which means I lost all of the content on it – movies, tv shows, etc. It also served as the back up to my hard drive on my computer, in case that failed.

Luckily, Heather had both of her hard drives with her, with a great deal of content on them – I was able to reformat my hard drive and copy things from her. I got most of the things back that I had lost, though I am still missing a few of my favorite things. Still, I considered myself lucky in that I was able to recover anything at all.

Next – my flash drive. Four gig capacity, with about half of that in materials I had developed over the past 17 months. The irony is that I had backed up my flash drive onto my hard drive…which I had to reformat. I went to give some materials to another teacher here a week or so ago, and did not know that her computer was infected with over 2000 viruses, trojans, and malware, which basically killed my flash drive. I discovered this when I plugged it back into my computer and my anti-virus program went crazy trying to defend my computer from all of these things. I was able to keep them at bay and then I tried to recover the items from my flash drive with a recovery program, it turns out that the malware and trojans had attached themselves to the files and again came up to try to infect my computer.

Who the hell DOES things like this?? What kind of sicko comes up with these things?

So I downloaded a new antivirus/protection software, at the recommendation of my friend, and was able to fend off the viruses/trojans/malware. Except for one little bomb that is still sitting on my desktop, which I cannot get rid of. I am going to need phone help to go into the code of the operating system, I think, and remove this nasty little thing.

But it gets better.

Two days ago when I put the memory card from my camera into my computer, guess what? It also was infected! I forgot that I had also used my memory card in the infected computer (AFTER the woman said she had cleaned it up – hah!). So I had to find an alternate way to get the photos off the card – I finally was able to retrieve the photos yesterday and also cleaned up and shredded the items on the memory card. While I was doing so I saw that I somehow had mp3 files on my camera’s memory card…so I found the infected files. At least I had a happy ending there…

But again this morning, more problems.  The desktop computer here at the camp, which I was told had also been cleaned…I worked for many hours yesterday to put together materials for today’s lesson. I brought my smaller flash drive to the computer, inserted it so I could print my items and guess what? All of my materials were destroyed again. With an hour to go before class. So….suffice it to say that I am beyond frustrated with this right now. I cannot print anything because the desktop into which I need to insert my flash drive is infected and destroys/infects my files and flash drive when I try to open them. I have 18 months of work that my anti virus program recognizes and scans on my large flash drive but I cannot access it because the virus/trojan/malware has made them inaccessible.

This is not the whole extent of the problems I am having, but it is most of them…at least the computer problems. I am seriously getting to the point where I NEED things to turn around…two weeks of bad days where I also do not get enough sleep is taking its toll.

Off to another day of classes…and improvisation since my materials don’t exist…

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 17, 2011 7:33 am

    Honestly, I would be drinking by now. Enjoy one when you get a chance.

    • August 17, 2011 8:49 am

      Oh but I cannot because I am at camp with the kidlets and want to serve as a good, rather than a bad, example. But seriously…I think my roommate and I will get a chance to escape/sneak away tonight (with the director’s blessing) for some wine. Oy.

  2. Mom permalink
    August 17, 2011 1:10 pm

    Well, that explains why my mind isn’t working.

    P.S.–I’d get rid of the flash drive.

    • August 17, 2011 1:12 pm

      I need to try to salvage things off of it – 18 months of work down the drain otherwise. And after I clean and shred it, and reformat it, I can re-use it. I cannot just go out and buy new electronic items here – they are very expensive for me.

Leave a Reply

