Skip to content

Round the clock

August 12, 2011

Something I have noticed about Sudak – there is always some sort of noise. During the day, it is noise from people walking around and talking, noise from restaurants and attractions, and noise from the kids at the camp. Usually there is not much noise from the sea, but today the waves are huge, so it sounds much like the oceans on the U.S. coasts. There are noises of children laughing, children screaming, adults yelling, and assorted other noises associated with a resort town. This is expected during the day.

In the evening,there is noise from the clubs and more noise from the kids – they stay up all night. Literally, all night. We spent a number of nights trying to keep them somewhat in line, and the only effect it had one me was to make more exhausted than I already was. Last night Heather and I went for a walk at about 2:30, and there were still many people out and about. This continues until around 4 a.m., when the vendors shut down. I discovered this because I was up until after 4 a.m. this morning.

Then, for about a half an hour to an hour, it is somewhat quiet, and then the early birds wake up and the cycle begins again. This is not good for my sleep schedule. As a matter of fact, it is terrible for my sleep schedule, and it is bad for my health, too. I use earplugs to sleep, but it is loud even with the ear plugs. And to complain a little more, the ear plugs are too big for my ears and it hurts to wear them.

When I came, I found out that half of the kids were sick from a virus that one of the campers brought in the session before this one, and it spread through this session. Of course, with so many kids being sick and with the schedule I have been maintaining, and the lack of fresh fruits and veggies, I got the cold. So I am sitting here, listening to the ocean while I type this, hearing the noise of the gulls. It is otherwise quiet because all but one of the kids left today – the session is over! Tomorrow the children arrive for the next session, so today and this evening, it was only me and one young many who is staying to the next session, and the teacher who arrived early this afternoon.

What to do with this free time today? We went swimming, or tried to do so. The waves are so strong that Masha did not want to swim much, and I bobbed around a bit – but the sea was quite nice and it was good to finally get in it. I did some laundry, but otherwise I look at the clock and wonder how it got to be 8:00 p.m. Due to my ongoing lack of sleep here, I will soon be going to bed, and think I will sleep late tomorrow since right now I am not being fed.

Last night was the closing ceremony for the camp session, and as part of that, we climbed up another “mountain” in Sudak (these people, I tell you, like to climb rocks). Though I was tired and very full from the dinner we had just had, I climbed up and was rewarded with a few very nice photos, none of which I can post right now.

It was an interesting week with the students. I cannot say I enjoyed it the whole time, to be quite honest. But I survived it, and tomorrow a new session begins. I wonder how that one will go…

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Mom permalink
    August 12, 2011 4:19 pm

    Please try to get some sleep and take care of yourself.

  2. R. Strina permalink
    August 15, 2011 2:47 am

    I hope you’ll recover from the cold, soon & I also hope that you get a chance to sleep! Greetings from MN! 🙂

Leave a Reply

