Skip to content

A good day

July 26, 2011

Today was one of those days that remind you why you are doing what you are doing, when you are a Peace Corps Volunteer.

It was the day that the information center for people with visual disabilities opened at the library where I work. This center, and associated training on how to work with people with visual disabilities (for librarians) and how to use the adaptive technology (for librarians and people with visual disabilities) were funded through a grant, which I wrote, after working with and advising the project team on the grant requirements, what would work best, etc. I have to say, I truly played the advisor/consultant role in that and the library had the idea and has been the one to conduct the project.

At the ceremony, both local and national television were present (how I hope we make the national news!) as well as other local media. There were representatives from local organizations that work with people who have disabilities. And there was me. I anticipate showing up on the local media, since whenever I am at an event and they are there, I somehow always end up on television. But if it helps get more visibility for the project, this time I’m all for it.

After introducing the center and why it is there, and speaking about the project, they brought me up to say a few words. I said a little speech, with my paper as a guide, in Russian – little memorization and a stumble or two but people understood me and applauded for me. Then they gave me flowers, the ceremony finished a little while later, and photos were taken.

A lot was said about how grateful the local organizations that serve people with visual disabilities are for the grant, for the work, for the center. These are organizations which do not have many resources – one of them does not even have access to the Internet.

On the other blog I maintain for the library, there is also a write up, which was designed more as a rah rah than my personal blog.

But suffice it to say it was a good day. I got the warm fuzzy feeling that we all like to get when a project is going well.

I even treated myself to an ice cream on the way home đŸ™‚

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Helene Haapala permalink
    July 26, 2011 10:27 am

    and a well deserved ice cream that was.

  2. July 26, 2011 11:35 am

    Thanks Helene!

  3. Sofia permalink
    July 26, 2011 12:48 pm

    Karen,it’s so good! I’m proud of you.

  4. Stephen Comfort-Mason permalink
    July 26, 2011 7:49 pm

    Congratulations!

Leave a Reply

