Skip to content

Hosting

June 6, 2011

As I write this, my friend, E, is sitting in my “extra room”, watching “Troy” and doing some work (yes, it is 8:15 at night here in Ukraine, and she is still working!).

Having her here makes me realize that I really miss having friends to just “be” with. You know, when you feel comfortable with the person, and when one of you can go into another room, but it is not because you are upset with the person – it is just because sometimes you need space. But overall, being with friends is something I miss. I don’t really realize it on a day-to-day basis, because I am more focused on getting through the day (though I have spent time with friends here). But when you see someone that you do not see very often, you realize how much you miss companionship.

She came back on the train from Kiev with me on Saturday night/Sunday morning, and we have had a good couple of days. We went to the bazaar and got all kinds of fresh produce, but have also used a sloppy joe mix and now a Pad Thai seasoning mix for dinner. Somehow it is just more “fun” to eat when you are not eating alone. And because produce is coming into season here, it has been nice to share the fresh fruits and veggies of the beginning of the season with someone.

But she is not just here to socialize – she is here for a purpose.Tomorrow she is conducting a workshop on fundraising at my organization. Now, I am the first to admit that with my background and education, fundraising is not my forte. When she proposed doing this for me, I said “of course!” and told her how welcome she would be. Even more so because we are friends, and it is always nice to have a friend around for a few days.

So we have had some wine, more than a few laughs, worked side by side today, and look forward to the next couple of days of working together. And then my summer really kicks into gear. I was worried that I would be bored this summer, and how I have managed to avoid that – how things seem to come together – is really unreal.

I hope everything works out the way it is planned – if things do, it will be a great summer.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Eve permalink
    June 6, 2011 12:04 pm

    I love me a good fundraiser, although the ones I have organized were usually along the bowling/silent auction lines. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

