Skip to content

A good day

June 3, 2011

When planning this trip to Kiev, I was not sure how things would go. After all, sometimes there are good visits, sometimes there are not-so-good visits.

This has, so far, turned out to be a good visit. Starting with a rather hot overnight train trip two nights ago (we got on the train and the windows were open, but people promptly closed them, and the car was not air conditioned). I visited the people who are currently in training yesterday, and being who I am, I was pretty direct with them.

Apparently my approach worked well, because I found out today that a few people stopped and gave positive feedback to the Training Manager. After the training, I got to have pizza from Pizza Marconi, hung out with a few of the trainees, and returned to Kiev. It turned out to be a long day – around 19 hours from my arriving at 5:30 in the morning to my going to bed!

This morning I ran into a couple of people who are leaving – it is that time of year – and was able to say goodbye to them before they left for Thailand for a visit on their way back to the U.S. Then I had a meeting scheduled with someone – I thought the meeting was going to be an hour and a half, but it turned out really well, and as it turns out I will be conducting some training sessions for her (in Kiev). I hope this will be the beginning of my working with her and this group for the next year.

I then went to the bank to finish opening my second account, for the grant money that is coming for my project with the library. I was able to get through it and now here I sit, waiting to meet a friend for dinner and listening to a bunch of Americans eating and socializing.

Overall, it was a good day. I like days like these, because they make up for the bad ones.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Renate Strina permalink
    June 6, 2011 7:22 am

    Amazing how time goes by, isn’t it? And as time is getting closer to your leaving the Ukraine, I bet there will be things that you are going to miss as much as you might look forward to returning to the States. I k now that after having lived in the Alpes for 2 years, I miss the mountains still very much! Continue to send us your impressions, thoughts, & pictures and thank you for doing so! Greetings from an equally summer-like Minnesota! 🙂

Leave a Reply

