Skip to content

Touring television

May 12, 2011

I seem to have always been interested in how television works, how shows are done, etc. When I was a teenager, I dragged my brother to a taping of a show called “Good Company”. I got an undergrad in Journalism, though I never was brave enough to try to get on television. Most recently, I met a news person from the Twin Cities and got a tour of the station from him.

It struck me on that tour just how thin the anchors were. They looked “normal” on TV but because of the demands of U.S. society, they had to be extra thin to look normal, or they would be called “fat”. Well, the women would be, anyway.

Since living in Kirovograd, I have made four television appearances. It seems like every time I participate in something “interesting”, there are the cameras, and of course they want to interview the American. Most recently was last week, while I (with three other Americans) was on the photo excursion.

Look right at home, don't I?

Today I found out that one of the photographers from the excursion, who also arranges photo contests and exhibits (thus how I met him) actually works at the local television station. So once again I got a tour of the station, and even got my photo taken at the news desk.

It was hard not to compare this tour with the last one. Of course, the Minneapolis-St. Paul area is far larger than Kirovograd, so I should not be comparing at all. I just could not help but think, when he brought me into the studio, how small it seemed and how much bigger it appears to be on air! He showed me the trick of the camera (he operates the cameras) and I was rather impressed at how they can make such a small area seem so large.

I then got to see the editing area, and tried to ask a couple of questions, which unfortunately led them to think that I wanted to see the blurb from last week again, so I yet again got to see myself stumbling in Russian. Um…thanks?

That was the end of the tour – like I said, it’s a small station! But it was fun and made my day, which started out as a question mark after I woke up (after sleeping for 11 hours), burned my breakfast, and was told that I was not to conduct a guest lecture today. At that time I was not sure how the day would end (and in fact, I am still not sure of that) but it has improved as it has progressed. I was given juice and a couple of biscuits after the ladies I worked with found out I am not feeling well (and I went through their questions of “what’s wrong?” “I don’t know, really”), saw another photo exhibit – wonderful photos of veterans, and got to tour a television station.

Now if only I could master this language…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

