Skip to content

My abode

April 19, 2011

A number of people have asked about where I live. While it is true that I live in a dormitory building, my “space” is called an “arrival apartment” and other than the fact that it does not have a proper kitchen, it is in fact an apartment. It has an exterior door (to which I have not been given the keys), two rooms plus a toilet, bathroom, and entryway, which I use as a kitchen (with my double hot plate). I figured it was about time I posted some photos of it. So here is your tour of where I live. The formatting did not turn out as well as I wanted it to, since WordPress won’t listen to my spacing commands, but you get the gist.

Evelin cooking dinner

The first thing a person encounters when entering my residence is the “kitchen”. In the photo you see Evelin, who was cooking dinner. You cannot really see the hot plate, but you can see the sink on the left in the back of the photo and also the door to the dorm building in the photo.

If you come through the door that is in the back of the photo and turn left (or on my right as I took the photo) is the room where I do my living. I sleep there, eat there, sometimes work there. It is not all that “neat” all of

My room in its glory

the time, as seen in this photo (and yes, that is Evelin poking her head in. I thought it added more interest). I must say, the rug is in dire need of vacuuming – perhaps it is meant to be a different color. Soon I will take it outside and give it the beating that it desperately needs. The space heater in the room is a bonus from the university and the “fan” type heater works better for me – it is so nice to have the warm air flowing in the room. The two “comfy” chairs were pretty dirty so I originally covered them with sheets, and the ladies gave me these beautiful coverings to use instead. The television does in fact work, and the drapes do not (in that they don’t keep the sun from shining through at 5 a.m.). That thing on the right that is partially visible is my bed. Yep, it’s small.

Yep, it's a hallwayHere’s the hallway that connects the rooms. My refrigerator is on the left, past the closet door and door to the outside. You can also see my emergency water supply, or part of it. I also have a land line, which has rung three times since I have lived there. It takes me by surprise when it does and I never answer the call. I figure it is either a telemarketer or a wrong number.

Here is something for which I am grateful – not only is it an indoor toilet, but above it is my very own hot water heater. I don’t have to share it with anyone else! And though it is ripped, the toilet seat is cushioned! For those of you wondering about the bucket of toilet paper next to the toilet…well, here in Ukraine most people do not flush toilet paper. Therefore, you need an alternative method of disposing of it. Ergo, the bucket. Which has a liner.

Its mine, all mine!

My "spare" room.

Here’s my “spare” room. It’s nice to have for setting up the rack to dry my clothing…and if I have guests, this is where they sleep. I was standing on one of the “couches” when I took the photo, and the other one is folded up. They both unfold and though they are not the most comfortable beds, they work.

Last but not least is the bathroom. It’s pretty basic – a sink, a tub. The tub is connected to the hot water heater, the sink is not (it is bracing to wash your face in cold water!). In the back left of the photo you see my “washing machine”. That is, I fill it with soapy water and my hands do the washing.

Ta da! Its a bathroom!

So ends the tour of my abode. It is not as nice as some but far, far nicer than others. I mean, an indoor toilet and my own water heater count for a lot here!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Cherry Markovich permalink
    April 22, 2011 7:38 am

    Again, nice digs.

  2. Renate Strina permalink
    April 25, 2011 5:03 am

    Hi Karin,

    Thanks for sending us photos of where you live! I always like pictures and the narrative that goes along with it. I found your commentary to the bathroom & ‘flushing’ habits in the Ukraine the most interesting – please, explain, why they wouldn’t flush toilet paper? Somehow I imagine the bucket giving of an unpleasant odor, if toilet paper is disposed off in there! Not to gross anyone out, but this is the weirdest thing I have heard in a while.

    As far as the spacing of the apartment goes, it reminds me of living in a dormitory before I moved into an apartment in Innsbruck, Austria. Thanks again for sending these posts, I really think it’s a learning experience for all of us reading your posts – thank you for the teaching aspect of it! Have a good week! Greetings, Renate

Leave a Reply

