Skip to content

but at least it’s clean(er)

March 28, 2011

It’s snowing. It’s March 28 and it’s snowing.

This morning dawned sunny and bright. My clock forgot that today is actually Monday, not Sunday, and sent the time an hour ahead, so instead of waking up late, I woke up early. Ah, the omen I missed…

The weather forecast called for sunshine and cold temperatures, but I don’t recall hearing the word “snow” in the forecast. Wearing my sunglasses, determined to not put my wool coat back on, I layered with my fleece and left my building.

On my way to work, I noticed a lot of people sweeping the streets and sidewalks, and also people burning trash. Interesting timing, that this is occurring, after I had written about the dustiness of the city a few days ago. So I was happy to see the streets being cleaned, even if it was with human effort, rather than that of Mother Nature.

When I am working at the library, my back is to the window, so I miss all of the action on the street, but also miss seeing things like a change of weather. So it was an unhappy surprise when, late in the day, another PCV came into the library and announced that he had seen snowflakes. Well, I thought, surely it is just a few. I left with a friend and her visiting friend, and the snow was little flakes here and there.

Unfortunately, after we spent the better part of an hour in the second-hand shop (E found a skirt, I tried on a skirt and was unpleasantly surprised at how it fit) we left and the snow was falling, and accumulating, faster than made any of us happy.

Perhaps Mother Nature needs a reminder that it is indeed Spring, at least according to the calendar. This generally means it is time to warm things up, to start the flowers blooming, and to remind us that it is not always cold where we live.

But at least the streets and sidewalks are clean. Or cleaner than they were three days ago. Somehow, that makes a difference.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Melanie permalink
    March 28, 2011 11:09 am

    Funny, I woke up to a surprise snow on the ground this morning, too!

Leave a Reply

