Skip to content

Just another day

March 15, 2011

For those of you who read my blog on a regular basis, you may have noticed that I have not been as verbose lately as I was for a while. This is attributed to the fact that I was, for longer than I want to say, lost in darkness. One that was different from other times, so it was a bit disconcerting. I went to work as usual, but just have not had the creative streak, the ability to find interesting things to say or notice around me.

So for a few weeks, I have been rather quiet in that respect – trying to find my way back out, determining what my priorities will be for the rest of my time here, and in general, trying to not bother others with my “private” issues, though certainly it is nothing to be ashamed of. I try not to write about my “innermost” thoughts and feelings on here, as it is open to the public. So I am honest…to a point. Mom always tells me I am too honest.

The other reason I have not written a lot is because, well, there has not been a lot going on – things have settled into a bit of a routine. This is good in some ways, as then life is not a constant source of anxiety. But I have found that to have some stress in my life motivates me forward. I have that this week…having committed myself to two guest lectures in one day at the university, and as it turns out both of them were far more time-consuming to put together than I would have liked. But I look at it this way – next semester, I will have far less work to do…I hope. It will be the same students, so I will have to be creative and make sure I don’t give the same students the same guest lecture (I am talking to all years of students, not just one).

I am focusing on studying Russian for an amount of time each day, tutor or (as the case is) no tutor. I have friends who are helping me and allowing me to make mistakes, and to speak English words when I don’t know them in Russian (they tell me the word in Russian) so my “Surgik” is Russian-English rather than the Russian-Ukrainian that most people here speak.

And…I’ve been thinking. My friend is back in the hospital for round two of chemo, so I worry for her, and pray for her (please help and pray for her too. Her name is Amy, and we want this for her: +NPM-1, -FLT-3. I can provide more details if you send me an e-mail).

There is a new group of volunteers arriving in a week, which means at the end of this month, I celebrate my one-year anniversary here.  This, of course, will be the cause of many thoughts and reflections.

So, in other words, it’s just another day. Who knows what tomorrow brings – that is part of the unknown of living here (or living in general).

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 15, 2011 11:34 am

    Just remember to reflect. It could always be worse – any one of us could be staring down at what used to be our village that was washed over by a 30m tsunami and be living without running water, electricity, etc. The world we live in is way interconnected.

  2. Cherry Markovich permalink
    March 15, 2011 11:59 am

    Yes, Ross, and the world is not finished with the human race yet. The cleansing has begun.
    Karin, honesty is ALWAYS the best policy. Sometimes it gets one into situations, but that’s OK. Whatever you want to do–just go for it!
    I love you both, no matter where you are or what you are doing. You are magnificant human beings.

  3. March 15, 2011 12:32 pm

    See, that is the thing – I believe my posts show how much I actually do reflect, and how grateful I am, and how fortunate I realize we are, especially those of us from the U.S. Perhaps I am not getting it across as well as I had thought I was.

    I happen to know people who are living without running water or a toilet!

  4. Renate Strina permalink
    March 21, 2011 7:46 am

    Hi Karin,

    Even if I don’t always write a comment – I do read your posts & I do appreciate your sharing your experiences in the Ukraine. As I have probably said/written before, I didn’t know you all that well before you left for the Ukraine, but being priviledged to reading your blogs, I do feel, I’m getting to know you better – Thank you! As far as being less verbose sometimes compared to other times. Writing the blogs is one thing, but we, the readers, are responsible to give you feedback, too. So, if the responses are few, I can understand less activity on your side!

    Don’t feel pressured to write anything for your reading audience – these blog/journal entries are for you! You’ll be amazed when you go back to them a few years later after you have returned to the States (I have done that with the group emails I had sent while in Austria and some of those emails, I know I would write differently today than I did back then, but that will be the part that tells you how you have grown over the years!

    Sending many greetings from Minnesota, where it’s beginning to feel more spring-like than look spring-like. As a motorcyclist, I can’t wait to get my ‘bike’ ready for the season! Speaking of motorcycles, do you see motorcyclists in the Ukraine? And if so, are any of them women riders?

    Ciao for now, Renate

Leave a Reply

