Skip to content

Ah, winter

February 20, 2011

Last week while I was at PEPFAR training, winter decided to return to Ukraine, and to my city. We returned from the Kyiv area on Friday night amidst snow flurries, and I awoke yesterday morning to the return of accumulated snow. Hell.

To be certain, this is not the end of the world. After all, other than my excursion to get food (necessary, as I had an empty larder after a week gone) I have an excuse to stay inside and stay warm. Not that I needed such an excuse – I wanted to stay in bed all day yesterday and today, for some reason. However, since leaving the sanitorium where we had our training, the headache I had all last week has disappeared, so I am hibernating inside once again.

The snow also lessens the need I had two weeks ago for the rubber rain boots. Though I have to admit, I wish that I still had the need for those instead of snow boots and a heater.

The sad news of the weekend is that I was not able to make an excursion on which I had been invited. It was with the group of photographers I had met back in December, to another city in another oblast. Unfortunately, the latest of their vehicles left my city at 6:00 p.m. on Friday, around the same time I was leaving from Kyiv to Kirovograd. So I missed being able to go on this weekend outing – bummer.

However, my weekend was brightened significantly by the arrival of two friends for dinner, wine and “Breakfast at Tiffany’s” last night.

According to Ukrainians, spring begins on March 1st. That is exactly nine days away. Short of a miracle occurring, I don’t see that happening in reality, I am sad to say. What is it about February that makes it seem like winter is dragging on, just out of spite?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 20, 2011 3:41 pm

    We had weather in the forties all week that melted quite a bit of the snow we were buried under. Now today we are expected to get a foot or better of the white stuff (which will just replace what melted) which is coming down in a blizzard as I type this. Once mid-March hits I think we can look ahead to Spring with confidence.

  2. Mom permalink
    February 20, 2011 4:47 pm

    Yep, nine inches and counting. But the dogs love it!

Leave a Reply

