Skip to content

Love, love, love

February 14, 2011

On this day where people celebrate love, I wish you all much of it, and much happiness. I am providing a few quotes about the subject, since I am currently at a training, have been up for a long day, and am too tired to write anything inspiring myself (assuming that people occasionally find what I write at least mildly inspiring). So I will use the words of others.

  • The hunger for love is much more difficult to remove than the hunger for bread.  ~Mother Teresa
  • Love has no desire but to fulfill itself.  To melt and be like a running brook that sings its melody to the night.  To wake at dawn with a winged heart and give thanks for another day of loving.  ~Kahlil Gibran
  • Love must be as much a light, as it is a flame.  ~Henry David Thoreau
  • Love is, above all, the gift of oneself.  ~Jean Anouilh

And I heard this beautiful poem on a recent podcast of “Being”.  I found it quite powerful:

Love After Love
The time will come
when, with elation
you will greet yourself arriving
at your own door, in your own mirror
and each will smile at the other’s welcome, 

and say, sit here. Eat.
You will love again the stranger who was your self.
Give wine. Give bread. Give back your heart
to itself, to the stranger who has loved you

all your life, whom you ignored
for another, who knows you by heart.
Take down the love letters from the bookshelf,

the photographs, the desperate notes,
peel your own image from the mirror.
Sit. Feast on your life.

by Derek Walcott

Hope you live a life filled with love and joy.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 14, 2011 2:57 pm

    “To love at all is to be vulnerable. Love anything, and your heart will certainly be wrung and possibly broken. If you want to make sure of keeping it intact, you must give your heart to no one, not even to an animal. Wrap it carefully round with hobbies and little luxuries; avoid all entanglements; lock it up safe in the casket or coffin of your selfishness. But in that casket- safe, dark, motionless, airless–it will change. It will not be broken; it will become unbreakable, impenetrable, irredeemable.” – CS Lewis

    “Love is merely a madness, and, I tell you, deserves as well a dark house and a whip as madmen do.” – William Shakespeare

    Love is like war: easy to begin but hard to end. – Anonymous

    Can there be a love which does not make demands on its object? – Confucious

    Love is the wisdom of the fool and the folly of the wise. – S Johnson

    🙂

    • Mom permalink
      February 15, 2011 9:14 am

      I love the Confucious quote….

  2. Melanie permalink
    February 14, 2011 3:55 pm

    Loved the poem and quotes. Much love to you, too.

  3. Jennifer Janis permalink
    February 14, 2011 5:59 pm

    I grew up never thinking my parents could be “romantic”, though I’m one of the lucky ones whose parents are still hopelessly in love with each other.. and then one day I found a book by Kahlil Gabran amongst my mom’s most treasured books and I read it….and then I finally knew what I was looking for….still looking for. And I’ll find it, when I’m ready for it.

    • Mom permalink
      February 15, 2011 9:15 am

      When you are “ready for it,” it will come…..

Leave a Reply

