Skip to content

Rubber Boots

February 8, 2011

When I lived in my house in St. Paul, and had my own yard and garden, I purchased a pair of rubber boots to wear when working in the yard and garden. The boots were pink and had tea roses on them, and came close to knee-height – in other words, they were pretty, and even when I was wearing them with shorts, I looked cool.

I went to Washington State for a while, away from the house, and gave the boots to my mom (which, considering where I went to live, may, in hindsight, have been a mistake). When I returned, I found I needed them again, so I purchased another pair – bright green with dogs (dalmatians) on them. Laugh if you must, but I wore those out of the yard (to work, to the store) on rainy days, and their brightness brought compliments. However, in packing for Ukraine, the boots did not make the cut, and behind they stayed (maybe my mom is wearing those now).

This morning I miss both of those pairs of boots. While this warm spell is nice, and I like the thought of an early Spring, what I do not like is the experience of trudging through mud with my heavy (though warm) winter boots (In case anyone is wondering what kind of boots I am wearing, and I know you all are, here they are). I also do not like getting home at night and finding the bottom of my trousers covered in mud from said walking. I like to be able to wear my trousers more than one time before I have to wash them.

Before you say something along the lines of “but you live in a city. Just use the sidewalk and you will not have this problem,” let me say, I would have this problem whether I was walking on the street, on the sidewalk, or along another path. There is mud everywhere. There just is. Even on the sidewalks. The snow is nearly gone, and Spring is a messy time. It is what it is.

On the flip side – this morning, when I was walking to the bus stop, I smelled earth. Sounds strange, doesn’t it? But to me, it was another positive sign that MAYBE the winter is on its way out – I mean, not only do we have mud, but I smell earth, I hear birds. Is it possible that Spring is going to make its appearance per the Ukrainian calendar?

So today begins my determination to find a pair of rubber boots here. I know they exist. I know they come in colors, because a friend of mine has a red pair. I don’t think I will find them with tea roses or dogs, unfortunately, or any of the other great patterns that can be found in the U.S. (especially at a place like Target, where I bought the other two pairs, and even has a section on the web site for womens’ rain boots. Check it out – I want the peacock or zebra ones! No, wait – the metallic leopard or pink flowers. Too many to choose from! They even sell fleece rain boot liners).

That was not a solicitation to send me boots, really. I am just happy that I can wear rubber boots that are something other than yellow or black. And I am sad that I made the decision to leave my boots behind.

So begins a new quest – to find rubber boots in Ukraine that won’t cost me my monthly allowance. It should be doable.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Mom permalink
    February 8, 2011 9:52 am

    I remember wearing those boots at your house working in the yard the last summer there. I also bought a pair myself–green with frogs on them. So where your two pair are, I don’t know. If I did, I’d send you some. Good luck looking, tho.
    P.S.–most cities are like what you are experiencing. The slush has no where to go. I remember tiptoeing around in high heels to keep from having it splash up on my legs (which it did anyway)in Chicago. There was always a quick washup at work before going to one’s desk. But at least you know it’s melting!

Leave a Reply

