Skip to content

It’s electric…

February 2, 2011

Or not…

About an hour ago, I was all set to work at home for the morning. I had laundry soaking, had just finished breakfast, had the heater going, and was about to log on to Rosetta Stone to work on my language. Then all of a sudden…beep goes the computer, off goes the power.

Um?

I went out my door and around the corner to the “concierge,” the lady who works at the front desk of the building. Here was the conversation:

Me – “Good morning. When will we have electricity again?” (this is clearly not an unusual thing for them to experience – she was having a normal conversation with the cleaning lady when I came out.)

Her – “Twelve o’clock.”

Me – “In three hours?”

Her – “Yes.”

Me – “Why is there no electricity?”

Her – “Meh, economics.”

Given the fact that the water was turned off for a while last fall/early winter, I am not surprised that they turned off the electricity. All I can say is, like I have said before, a little bit of notice would have been nice. I am glad I decided to get up instead of staying in bed, and had already eaten by the time they turned it off.

Thus, I came into the library to pass some time before I go to the College today. Normally I would already be at the College, but they do not have a place for me to work, so I usually do things at home, then go in to conduct the English Club there.

Feeling a bit like a lost soul today! Where do I belong?

Luckily, I am always welcome at the library, even when it is a day I am supposed to be somewhere else. So things could be worse!

I just hope the electricity is back on by the time I get home today…

As an FYI for those who do not live in post-Soviet countries, these are not rare occurrences, the electricity being turned off, the water being turned off. I happen to have been fortunate before now in that when all of Kirovograd lost water last summer (an unfortunate time for that to happen), at the place where I lived (at the time), the water remained. So I consider myself fortunate that, until now, my electricity has remained a constant in my life here.

Such things being a constant for me is very fortunate, as many volunteers deal with a lack of these things on a regular basis. So I will cease any complaints, and take it in stride (thus the reason I left my residence for lighted and heated pastures). After all, it could be worse!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. February 2, 2011 6:30 am

    Sometimes in Iraq the electricity would go off for hours. During the summer. No A/C.

    Nice to hear they do the same in Ukraine… ;0

  2. Mom permalink
    February 2, 2011 1:44 pm

    Imagine being without it all the time……

  3. February 3, 2011 1:35 am

    Mom – this is what I had said a couple of times in the post – how fortunate I am.

    • Mom permalink
      February 3, 2011 1:47 pm

      No, I mean, REALLY not having it at all at any time. Imagine, there are still people living without electricity or plumbing and somehow they survive. I know you realize how lucky you are….

  4. Erin permalink
    February 3, 2011 8:45 am

    it’s funny to realize that these things aren’t normal… after a few years now, I think this is no biggie πŸ™‚ sounds like you took it well!

  5. Heidi permalink
    February 4, 2011 2:30 pm

    If it makes you feel better, we have this happen at our house, purely because it is a piece of crap old farm house. πŸ˜€ Seriously. Bad electrical wiring that even led to our fire in December. And a water pump that works sometimes. If it is freezing outside, it works better. If it is nice outside, well then I get to have the pleasure of going outside every 20 min and swinging the broom handle down the well at the tiny grey box and hoping the pump will turn on again (and we had “nice” weather for 4 months straight there). Life sure can be interesting at times… πŸ™‚

  6. Mom permalink
    February 4, 2011 3:54 pm

    Being under 3-4 feet of snow at any given time, with 2 feet on the roof, we are continually pushing snow away from the vents, which otherwise freeze, causing our septic to back up into the house. Nice. And the toilets “cough.” That is the warning that we have to get on the roof and pour hot water down the vent pipes to keep them open. Living in a house is always a challenge for upkeep, especially in Minnesota. Of course the whole country is experiencing it now, so who’s complaining??

Leave a Reply

