Skip to content

You found what in Kirovograd?

January 5, 2011

A few weeks ago, I was with Evelin and we were shopping for a “goodbye” dinner we were to have for Sofia. While we were at a local store (the one that I call the Ukrainian WalMart), I saw something that shocked me.

You have to understand, after eight months here (at the time, now nine), it is getting hard to shock me with the things I see.

Yet I was shocked to see this particular product. There is a winery in the Seattle area called Chateau St. Michelle. I am familiar with this winery, having lived in the Seattle area for five years and visited it on a number of occasions (not only do they do tours, but they also have a concert series every summer. Or they used to, I assume they still do).  My sister has been to the winery, as I brought her there on a visit. My parents are familiar with its products, as their sparkling wine is my favorite domestic sparkling wine (U.S.).

Imagine my surprise to find their sparkling wine in Kirovograd. Not just sparkling wine, but blanc de noirs, which is pink.

Unfortunately, at the time I saw it, I did not have my camera with me. Well, that was resolved the other day when my friend Bennett was visiting, and we went to the same grocery store. I don’t even bother to think of how silly I look anymore when I take photos in a grocery store (as we also did in Izmail).

In case you are wondering, I won’t be buying that bottle of Domaine St. Michelle Blanc de Noirs. The cost in the U.S. is approximately $10-12 a bottle, depending on whether it is on sale. The price here is 212 hrivnyas, which equates to about $25. Not only is that a heavy import tariff, but it is one I cannot afford on my allowance. It was enough to see it and be amused, if not befuddled, that I found it here.

I was going to post the photo of me holding the bottle here in my blog, but the fates are not smiling on me in that regard at the moment. I have added it to the Kirovograd album on Picasa. The photo can be found here.

Today is my last day in Kirovograd for a little while. This evening I get on the overnight train to Kiev, then on Friday morning I am off to Cairo! I may be able to update while I am there; otherwise, I will have a very long post when I return!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 5, 2011 10:10 am

    It’s a global world. 😉

  2. January 7, 2011 1:22 pm

    I don’t think I will ever forget that trip to the winery!! What a blast!!! And then shopping at the outlet mall afterwards (and on black friday no less!) I must say the wine is one of my favorites as well!

  3. Renate Strina permalink
    January 10, 2011 3:52 am

    Hi Karin,

    I’m glad for you about your find in Kirovograd, although, I’m sorry that you don’t get to enjoy the ‘taste’! Maybe by the time they will celebrate your farewell, your friends will surprise you with a bottle? Will you stay in Kirovograd, though? I’m not a fan of sparkling ‘pink’ wine myself, but I understand the joy of finding something one likes! ***SMILE*** Greetings, Renate 🙂

Leave a Reply

