Skip to content

In Kirovograd and counting down

December 29, 2010

My visit to Izmail was, unfortunately, too short (though I imposed upon the hospitality of C and I for four nights). On our last day we really had a nice, relaxing time, getting up late, visiting their office, playing a lot of cards and drinking a lot of vodka (mixed drinks, which no self-respecting Ukrainian would do).

Playing cards on our last day in Izmail

Rather than bore people with the details of my uneventful journey back to Kirovograd (the highlight was getting fed by a young Ukrainian family with whom I was sharing space on the train), I will move on to more important things – now and next week!

However, I will share some of the photos that we took in Izmail. I also posted this on Facebook – this is for the people who think I never clown around and have fun. Every time we looked at this photo we cracked up:

Those skinny models ain't got nothing on us!

Life will be good in these next few weeks. Well, not that it is not good anyway, but I will be getting some much-needed interaction with friends and best of all, I get to go on a vacation!

First, my friend B will be coming today! He has had a bit of a rough time of it, and I am glad he will be visiting. I don’t know how long for, but definitely over the New Year…I have no idea what we will be doing.

At the Suvorov museum in Izmail

And one week from tomorrow, I will be in Kyiv, and on an airplane on the 7th to Cairo! I decided to go to Cairo rather than on one of those all-inclusive trips that other people do. I have always wanted to go, am going with a good friend who will, I am sure, tolerate my quirks regarding what I do when I see a photo I want to take. Sometimes this involves waiting for just the right moment, sometimes it involves taking a photo and skedaddling.

I realized just yesterday that this trip is coming up really quickly, so I have not been doing a countdown to it. Until now. As of the moment I write this post, I have fewer than nine days left, as our plane leaves at 7 in the morning on the 7th.

So there’s the latest – not a whole lot of work going on right now, but at long last, I am having some fun.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Heidi permalink
    December 29, 2010 3:15 am

    Good for you! 🙂

  2. December 29, 2010 7:28 am

    Be careful in Egypt:

    (from the State Department)

    WARDEN MESSAGE No 26:
    Crime in the Maadi Area and Personal Security Awareness

    December 21, 2010

    In the past several months the Embassy has received reports of a number of attempted robberies perpetrated against the expatriate community, including members of the U.S. Mission in Cairo. All of these robberies have occurred in Maadi in the vicinity of Road 250 and possibly involve the same suspects:

    A blue or silver car, possibly a 4-door sedan, with a driver and one passenger.
    The passenger exits the vehicle and asks the victim for directions to a soccer game.
    The victim feels a bump, or the suspect physically restrains the victim and attempts to take items from a pocket. In the most recent incident the suspect punched the victim in the stomach causing minor injury.
    The suspects drive away.

    I look forward to seeing pics. Cairo/Egypt (Pyramids, etc) is a place I’ve always wanted to visit. Until I get the chance, I can live vicariously through the pics that you take. 🙂

    The State Dept gives caution about taking some pictures:

    SPECIAL CIRCUMSTANCES: There are restrictions on photographing military personnel and sites, bridges, and canals, including the Suez Canal. Egyptian authorities may broadly interpret these restrictions to include other potentially sensitive structures, such as embassies, other public buildings with international associations, and some religious edifices. Visitors should also refrain from taking photographs of any uniformed personnel.

    Public mini- and microbuses are not safe; the Embassy strongly recommends that its personnel not use them. In 2009, there was a serious accident involving international tourist buses on highways outside Cairo in which a number of foreign tourists were killed.

  3. Mom permalink
    December 29, 2010 8:58 am

    Yes, Ross, and another tourist bus just this week. Everyone died. I thought of you, Karin, right away and was so glad you weren’t there yet.

    Please enjoy the historic beauty and also be very careful (wary).

    • Mom permalink
      December 29, 2010 8:59 am

      P.S., Karin, your pictures above look like you had a wonderful time. So happy for you.

    • December 29, 2010 11:24 am

      Actually only 8 people of 29 died. Still 8 people, but I don’t plan to take a tour bus. I’ll be doing what I usually do – hoofing it or taking the metro. I will have a big strong man with me so I am sure no one will bother me. I am always careful, you know that.

  4. Lisa permalink
    December 29, 2010 10:05 am

    So glad to hear you had a nice Christmas vacation. You made some really good friends and had a chance to connect with other PCVs with an oven! Glad you could enjoy baked goods warm from the oven.
    2011 will be a great year for you. 2010 was full of change, adventure and challenges. You made it through stronger and more determined with your goals. It’s exciting to read your posts.
    Thank you!

  5. Sim permalink
    December 29, 2010 4:02 pm

    FWIW, from my experience in Egypt…negotiate the price BEFORE you get on a camel for a ride. They ask you to pet the camels for free, then sit on the camel for free, then take a walk around on the camel, when you say OK, the camel gets up and NOW you have to negotiate the terms of getting off since it is too far to jump (legs + hump + saddle-like seat = tall). Be safe.

  6. Renate Strina permalink
    January 3, 2011 12:34 pm

    Hi Karin,

    Really enjoy any post/bog entry of yours that has pictures in it, with or without you in them! Those pictures help a lot to visualize your surroundings. Enjoy your trip to Egypt, be safe, have fun, and maybe we can look forward to picture of that trip?

    Take care, Renate 🙂

    • January 5, 2011 5:47 am

      Renate – Unfortunately, I have limited capacity to post photos on my blog. That is why I use Picasa, and I always link to the albums 🙂

      I will definitely post photos from Cairo – again, in Picasa. Maybe a few in the blog.

Leave a Reply

