Skip to content

Izmail

December 26, 2010

In the past two and a half days, since I have been here in Izmail, I think I have eaten more than I have in the past week. I am not exaggerating (and I am trying not to think of how much weight I am gaining!) Add that to the candy that has been given to me in the past week (by Ukrainians, because of either St. Nicholas Day or the New Year, and now I am starting to understand why Peace Corps tells us that many volunteers gain weight in Ukraine. Prior to December, I honestly did not understand why they would say that. But it is the holiday season now, and after all the eating I have been doing, I understand.

Of course, the facts that I am staying with PCVs that have a real kitchen, and that there is a young man here who really likes to cook, increase the odds of my consuming a lot of food. Especially sweets. They have an OVEN! And made cookies. And a french toast casserole, sausage and egg casserole, chicken wings, “Spanish” rice, cut up veggies, chocolate cake, carrot cake, and numerous other things that were tempting, even for me, the one who does not usually eat when not hungry. What is about nice people and good food (okay, and alcohol) that leads to eating, and eating, and eating?

So I have been eating. A lot. What else have I been doing here? Yesterday my host brought me on a tour of the city (photos to be uploaded later). It has been crazy warm here – it was around 55 degrees F yesterday – unseasonably warm. I was out in just a turtleneck and fleece (and gloves, of course). My host showed me the highlights and talked about the projects they (he and his wife – they are serving together) have done since they have been here. I hope to be able to achieve half as much, and worry that I will not be able to do so. I’ve been trying to not think about work since I got here. It’s too stressful to think about work. I am trying to take a few days off and relax.

So we explored a bit, and returned to the apartment, and we all ate, drank, and were merry. Isn’t that what you are supposed to do on holidays? Today we relaxed, did crossword puzzles, read, and generally were kind of lazy – no walks today. I did, however, download a bunch of movies from another one of the PCVs who is here.

So..once again I have been posting into a black hole. I know everyone is busy, but remember I am starved for information and appreciate you all e-mailing me to let me know how you are and what you are up to!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Stephen permalink
    December 26, 2010 12:06 pm

    With the snow we have received in the Saint Louis area, I would not call this a “black hole”. The first truly white Christmas I can remember in a long time…

    As always I find your posts interesting, and they often bring back memories of when I was in Ukraine. I wish I had the opportunity to get into the small towns and villages the way I did in Bosnia-Herzegovina.

    Your pictures are especially good, and especially welcome.

    Enjoy your holidays!

  2. Jennifer Janis permalink
    December 26, 2010 12:19 pm

    I’m so happy to hear you are having a great holiday! We all need time to just sit back and relax….AND to eat too much! Take some time to just enjoy yourself and your hosts. Work will always be there when you get back, no need to stress about.
    And I’m sure with all the hard work you’re doing, you’ll accomplish much. And if you don’t accomplish as much as you would like, that’s OK too!!

    Happy Holidays and a very Happy New Year!

  3. Mom permalink
    December 27, 2010 1:20 pm

    Eating is part of the celebration and of course the sharing. Enjoy it!

  4. Heidi permalink
    December 29, 2010 3:21 am

    You know I am a well-fed girl, and I can NOT keep up with the Danes during the holidays. Man they consume VAST quantities of food!! (And alcohol which I can’t drink now. 😦 ) I am glad you are having lovely holidays and thanks for keeping us posted. 😀

Leave a Reply

