Skip to content

What’s Your Type?

December 22, 2010

The other day, I saw that one of my friends on Facebook had done an online Myers-Briggs Type Indicator test, and posted his “type” on Facebook. It made me think of the first time I took the MBTI. I was in my first class of my MBA studies, which I started in Minnesota. As part of the class, we all took the MBTI, and were told what is our type.

I approached the test with some doubt. I mean, a personality test? Come on! But I did it anyway, and got my result (3-5% of the U.S. population shares this type, according to Wikipedia).

The idea behind the MBTI is interesting in itself. According to http://www.myersbriggs.org:

“The purpose of the Myers-Briggs Type Indicator® (MBTI®) personality inventory is to make the theory of psychological types described by C. G. Jung understandable and useful in people’s lives. The essence of the theory is that much seemingly random variation in the behavior is actually quite orderly and consistent, being due to basic differences in the ways individuals prefer to use their perception and judgment.”

What they make sure to emphasize on the website is that all types are equal, that the test merely measures preferences, not trait, personality, or character.

I do have to admit, the MBTI is, as they say, reliable. Whenever I have taken the test, I have always come up with the same result. Is this because I am familiar with the test, or because the test is reliable? I think it is reliable, as far as tests like that can go. I mean, my mood changes on any given day but my preferences do not – those are pretty constant, even through the nearly 15 years since I first took the test (indeed, over the course of my life).

This is not me trying to sell you on the test. If you don’t believe in it, you don’t. I tend to put more faith in it than in say, the color preference test (four colors – which one do you like best, tells you about your personality. Seriously?)  and others I have seen that claim to tell you about yourself.

If nothing else, these tests make you think. You may agree with them, you may not, but you may wonder why you get the result you get and either way, it makes you think, and possibly do some self-examination. Or not. You may look at the result and completely blow it off.

So what’s your type? I’m an INTP.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Heidi permalink
    December 22, 2010 9:10 am

    I love Meyers Briggs, even if I end up evenly split on the T/F and J/P scores… that alone explains a lot of my life 😉 I think it is accurate and useful, especially in team building for projects or work groups.

  2. December 22, 2010 9:30 am

    I am ENTJ

    E – 67
    N – 50
    T – 1
    J – 67

    – distinctively expressed extravert

    – moderately expressed intuitive personality

    – slightly expressed thinking personality

    – distinctively expressed judging personality

  3. Lisa permalink
    December 22, 2010 9:49 am

    I’m an ENFP and I’m married to an ISTJ. Total opposite. Weird.

  4. December 26, 2010 11:04 am

    I am an ENTJ.

Leave a Reply

