Skip to content

For Sofia, my friend

December 12, 2010

I arrived in Kirovograd in mid-June of this year. For the first month, I spent a lot of time alone, as I did not know many people here. Then I was introduced to a young woman from Germany, who knew someone else from Germany, who had recently arrived and was to work in Kirovograd until December. This young lady, whose name is Sofia, and I met in July, and she has been my best friend in Kirovograd – for a while my only friend in Kirovograd – ever since.

Since Sofia was born in Moscow, she is fluent in Russian. She has helped me in many ways, when I needed assistance with translation. We also explored the city together, ate a lot of ice cream during the summer, drank a bit of wine, shared many meals (I believe at Celentano in the center of Kirovograd they will be shocked to see me there without her). She was very supportive of me during some of my more difficult moments here, and always had a smile and kind words for me.

Five months have now gone by, and the day has come for Sofia to leave Kirovograd and return to Germany. This evening, in fact, she takes a bus to Kiev, and tomorrow morning she gets on her flight. I will miss her a great deal. I realize that she is returning to start her career, thus going on to bright and wonderful things. Still, I will miss my friend. Though we now live in an age of easy communication via electronic means, it is not quite the same as having the person in the same vicinity as you.

Sofia's last night in Kirovograd

And so I end this post with a quote for my friend Sofia:

This is my wish for you: Comfort on difficult days, smiles when sadness intrudes, rainbows to follow the clouds, laughter to kiss your lips, sunsets to warm your heart, hugs when spirits sag, beauty for your eyes to see, friendships to brighten your being, faith so that you can believe, confidence for when you doubt, courage to know yourself, patience to accept the truth, Love to complete your life. – Author Unknown

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Julia permalink
    December 12, 2010 12:34 pm

    Sofia is really the most sunny person I have ever known. We hadn’t a big friendship and now I’m sorry about this thing. But I hope we’ll meet someday for sure. I wish her only the best and the most interesting future. We all liked you very much, Sonechka:-)

  2. Sofia permalink
    December 13, 2010 6:49 am

    Karin, this is the most beautiful declaration I’ve ever heard. I am really happy about meeting you and call you my friend. You have also always supported me and I’ll never forget the evenings when I visited you at dorm and you prepapred a dinner only for me because you have already eaten. I felt really at home in your company. I know, we’ll keep in touch.
    The distance is nothing if one want to stay in contact! My memoriss of Kirovohrad will be always conected with you and I’m very glad about it. I don’t say goodbye cause I know we’ll see each other!!!

  3. Renate Strina permalink
    December 13, 2010 8:47 pm

    Well, now you know two people from Germany – Sofia & me ***wink smile***, but since Sofia was born in Russia, she was probably more Russian than German? Sorry, that Sofia left Kirovograd (I wonder how you pronounce the name of the city?), but I hope you have found in her a friend for life! Here is to hoping that modern technology will assist you in staying in touch! Sending greetings from snowy & cold Minnesota – I’m sure you are not missing the weather here … take care, Renate 🙂

Leave a Reply

