Skip to content

The Quest

November 30, 2010

On Thursday, we (the womens’ organization at the local library and I) are doing an anti-trafficking program. Correction – I got a grant, and they are doing the program, since it will be in Ukrainian or Russian. However, since I got the grant, I have been working with them on the preparation for the program, specifically to purchase items for a presentation and poster contest.

The items we needed seemed to be rather simple – flipchart paper, markers, DVDs, and colored paper. I thought it would be easy to find these items.

Once again, I was wrong.

We went to the first store. They had three kinds of DVDs, all of which cost more than I wanted to pay. They also only had 42 of the kind that was most appropriate. Total. They had 9 black markers. They did not have flipchart paper, but they did have colored paper. So we bought colored paper there, and went to the next store.

The next store was a “Xerox” store – logo and all. They had flipchart paper. They had pink, light green, and yellow highlighters, and five black markers. They had 10 of the DVD that I needed. So there we bought the flipchart paper, highlighters, and black markers there, then we went to the computer store.

At the computer store, we had success with DVDs! We found all the DVDs we needed, plus the little sleeves for them.

Then back to the first store for more black markers. Now we were just looking for blue markers. We went to one last store, and found…black and red markers. No blue. Then we gave up and returned to the library.

I remember in Chernihiv there is a store, with a couple of locations, that sells paper, markers, DVDs, and all other kinds of paper-related products. That’s in Chernihiv. I thought that as Kirovograd is an oblast center, that there would be something similar here. I was wrong…

However. Yesterday I went to the Ukrainian equivalent of Wal-Mart. It is very close to where I live, though I had no idea it was there, as I have no reason to take the marshrutka down that road. Someone pointed it out to me on Sunday night, and of course I had to go check it out yesterday.

As I walked in the store, part of me thought “Why didn’t I know about this sooner?” and part of me thought “Holy cow, this place is huge!” I am pretty confident that I will do some, though not all, of my food shopping there. They have pretty much everything I buy, and a really great “deli” section. But the award for the rotisserie chickens and a fabulous bakery still goes to Silpo, where I currently do my shopping.

These are sometimes the things that not only fill my day (or part of it), but can make it a good or bad one.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Mom permalink
    November 30, 2010 10:01 am

    Sounds like shopping in the U.S.

  2. November 30, 2010 11:30 am

    Isn’t it funny that the simple things can sometimes make your day! Sometimes it doesn’t take much to make us happy, which is a good thing. Glad to hear that you are liking your new job and keeping busy! We miss you!!

Leave a Reply

