Skip to content

On the Ice

November 29, 2010

Last night I went ice skating for the first time in about 10 years. I had been invited to go a number of weeks ago, but was unable to go at that time, and then the second time, I was sick. So the third time’s the charm, right?

It is amazing how things come back to you, even after many years. I guess I have the advantage of having skated, off and on (certainly not with any real skill – I cannot do jumps and flips), since I was a small child. Then again, when you live in a cold climate, as I have for most of my life, you join in the winter activities or risk being alone indoors all winter. Ah yes, I have memories of ice skating on the lakes near Ely (MN), with my toes so cold I could not feel them. But I went anyway, because it was a social thing to do and if I did not go out on the ice, I would have had to stay inside alone. With nothing to do. So cold toes it was. And cold nose and chin.

So I went skating, got out on the ice, took it slow for a while, and fell on my butt once. I’ll blame the terrible condition of the ice for that, because I was not, like many of the other people there, trying to hot-dog it or do fancy tricks that were beyond my capabilities. I caught my skate in one of the thousands of divots (for lack of a better way to describe them, though not entirely accurate) during a turn.

Eventually I was skating backwards again, doing crossover turns and getting back into my old skating ways. Unfortunately, this led one of the other people with whom I was skating to attempt these maneuvers as well. As this person had only been on the ice a total of two times, and still watched the ice while on skates, I attempted to warn him against trying to do anything but stay upright. I told him until he can gain control of his movements, and skate without ice-staring, to not to try to skate backwards. Well…do you think he listened? So he fell. A lot. But kudos to him, he got up and kept trying. I wonder how he feels today, though, because ice is HARD and falling on it is not fun.

So overall, a good “Thanksgiving” weekend, with rather a good number of unexpected events. Yesterday before skating I also got a free lunch – free meals three out of four days – this is a record for me, and I want to enjoy it while it lasts, because I know it won’t last. Though the meal came with a “price” – I was invited for lunch, then the person paused and said “I need your help with some things I am translating for work.” AHA! But it was not a problem, I was happy to help.

So the final weekend tally – judging “Brain Ring” on Thursday followed by dinner, meeting the Danes on Friday over dinner, making dinner for two other PCVs on Saturday and getting a couple of movies (and Rosetta Stone, now I just need to get it to work), and on Sunday, lunch and ice skating. I was not bored this weekend! But I have a feeling that weekends like this one will be rare…

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Mom permalink
    November 29, 2010 7:15 am

    Your first ice-skating experience was in New Jersey at about age 4. I laced up your skates and away you went, doing figure eights right away. The rest of us had “bad ankles” so couldn’t keep up. Glad you got to do that again. Next you’ll be skiing again….

  2. Julia permalink
    November 29, 2010 12:18 pm

    Don’t worry, there will be a lot of such interesting weekends 😉 Skating was really funny, it’s like a returning in childhood. I have so many great emotions from it!

  3. Anna Lvova permalink
    November 30, 2010 8:36 am

    Nice again, i will read you. It’s a line from Danish gentlemen:
    P.S. On Saturday say hello to Karin and wish here a happy birthday.

  4. Vadim permalink
    December 1, 2010 1:32 pm

    How many times you have to go to the rink before you could manage to skate backwards I wonder? Anyway I hope we will go skating again soon! I’m not sure about skiing though, today is the first day of the winter but there’s no snow outdoors..

    • December 2, 2010 1:14 am

      Vadim – if you notice, my mom wrote that my first skating experience was when I was four years old. So more than three times…

Leave a Reply

