Skip to content

Moonrise

November 22, 2010

I watched the moonrise this afternoon. I say this afternoon because it rose at 4:40 p.m. Though it was early, it was beautiful, because it is a full moon tonight. I was able to see it because I was watching it out of the window of the bus as I was on my way to Kyiv.

Though sitting on a bus for five hours is not terribly comfortable, I have started to enjoy (to a certain extent) my bus rides. I am able to catch up on “Being,” which I download and am only able to listen to when I am on the bus. I love listening to it, and it always makes me think (which I suppose is the point of the program).

So I was watching this beautiful moon rise and was listening to “Being” and thinking of my family, specifically my niece. I miss her a great deal. I am lucky because my sister has given me a great deal of latitude with her, because she is not “mine” but my sister has allowed me to borrow her a number of times. For some reason, this beautiful moon made me think of her.

Sometimes it is the simple things, and time on a bus to think, that bring you back down to Earth.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Mom permalink
    November 23, 2010 4:27 pm

    I could be wrong but I thought the moon was always present, it’s just that we can’t see it in daylight because of the sun and clouds, etc. Anyone know for sure? I know I’ve seen a crescent moon during the daytime while the sun was in another position in the sky. I suppose the “rising” is it’s appearing in our vision and am so glad you were able to enjoy it. From time to time the moon resembles the sun, doesn’t it, without the heat rays?

  2. November 24, 2010 1:37 am

    Technically speaking, a full moon is “visible” from noon to midnight. Call my writing poetic license.

  3. November 24, 2010 7:04 pm

    Kayla read this and said it was nice that you were thinking of her. She misses you as much as you miss her. Hope you have a Happy Thanksgiving! Love you!!

Leave a Reply

