Skip to content

…feed a cold

November 21, 2010

You know that saying, starve a fever, feed a cold? Well, this past week my cold has not been going hungry at all. I think I have eaten more during this time than I have since training. For some reason, when I am at home, as I was all last Monday and Tuesday, and food is readily available, I get more hungry than when I am at work and have to make an effort to feed myself (that is, go get something). So I ate much more than I usually do, especially since my friend brought me a rotisserie chicken on Tuesday, which we shared and she returned for more of it on Thursday. I don’t remember a time that I have been living in Kirovograd when I have had such regular meals. I am kind of lazy when it comes to cooking – not a lot of motivation for me to cook for one. So I try to find ways around it, which sometimes involves just skipping meals.

Readers may have gotten the impression from previous posts that I have some sort of eating disorder. This is not the case. I do eat and am at a healthy weight. I just often do not want to, and it is unusual for me to indulge in boredom or emotional eating. Food is not the motivator for me, or the fallback, that it is for some other people. That being said, I cannot say I never eat just because I like something – it just depends on what that something is.  For example, unless I have had way too many sweets during a period of time, if you offer me chocolate, I will usually eat it.

Yesterday was the pinnacle of my week of eating, when the PCVs from the Kirovograd oblast came together for an early Thanksgiving dinner. One of the volunteers even brought a couple of small turkeys. I have to admit, at the beginning of the day, I was not excited about this get together. I was tired, and cranky, and when I feel like that I sometimes just don’t feel like socializing. However, since I do not see these people but once every couple of months, when they come into the city, I went anyway, and ended up being glad I did.

People brought interesting and creative dishes, and one person even found cranberries. But it was a real Thanksgiving dinner, for we  had turkey, gravy, stuffing, mashed potatoes, veggies (a selection to choose from), squash, and a number of other items – you get the drift – there were 15 of us there, and we all brought a food contribution. So all in all, it was a pretty pleasant evening.

Now back to my normal “pattern” – off to Kyiv tomorrow for Warden training on Tuesday, then back to work. I believe I will be working on Thanksgiving proper, but I will still be sure to give my thanks for the blessings in my life.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Mom permalink
    November 21, 2010 8:49 am

    Wow–really glad you went. “Never miss a party” or, restated, “Never miss a meal” has a lot of value. Not just the eating, but also the enjoying and fraternizing. I’m really glad you got a chance to participate. And, if you can, keep something special for yourself for Thanksgiving.
    P.S. Made an attempt at making Slavanian walnut Potica today. My eyes are getting bad so guess I didn’t read or interpret the recipe as much as I should have. But it’ll be good anyway. (Next time it’ll be better.)
    Happy Thanksgiving one and all.

Leave a Reply

