Skip to content

Blue

November 18, 2010

I’ve been feeling blue again for the past few days. I guess part of it could be attributed toward my cold but the larger part is either unidentified or related to other factors. Either way, still not quite up to 100 percent.

This cold thing…in the U.S., I almost never get sick. No exaggeration. Every year, my sister and her family go through the rounds of illnesses (children are such disease carrying little things!). My friends would also get colds and flu. However, for some reason, I managed to escape most of the illnesses/viruses that came around, and (for this I am grateful), I have never had a sinus infection. I was grateful for my good health, as I knew there were many people who were very sick, but also because for 2-1/2 years before I came to Ukraine, I did not have medical insurance, so basically, I COULDN’T get sick anyway.

So I experienced an extended period of very good health in the U.S. I figured I had a good, strong immune system, and even though I did some dumb things (and, together with my dad, renovated a house), I managed to never break a bone or lose a finger (then again, I left the big power tools to him most of the time).

Then I came to Ukraine. Since I have been in Ukraine, I have experienced more illness than in the past, say, 10 years in the U.S. My first six weeks here were spent in constant illness (ahem, “stomach” issues, no need to go into details) and two colds. I managed to get through the summer without being sick, but since then I had another two colds (including the present one).

So are the viruses in Ukraine especially strong? Are they different than those in the U.S.? I suppose this is not an unrealistic leap to make, that the viruses would be different, and thus my immune system, so strong in the U.S., has no defense against them. Still, it sucks to be a person who used to be so healthy, and to now feel…sickly.

Anyway, so the cold is still with me. I hate eating because I cannot taste anything.

So if it is not because of the cold, then why am I blue? I guess because there are a bunch of things going on that do not seem to be going the way I want them to go. I wish I could go into detail but I cannot. I also do not want to sound like I am whining, but I guess to some, that is how this post will come across in any case.

You know, you have good times and bad times. Luckily, this “bad” time could be worse, but still, I am not sleeping well. I hope it passes quickly.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Mom permalink
    November 18, 2010 7:25 am

    Nothing ever goes the way we planned it, without some complications. That’s the way of life. Sorry you’re feeling “under.” Do you have a way to get some orange juice or fresh oranges? Helps, I think.

  2. Helene Haapala permalink
    November 18, 2010 9:27 am

    feel better soon… maybe it’s just adjusting to different viruses and different germs…

  3. Anna Lvova permalink
    November 28, 2010 9:17 pm

    Hi! When i was in Kiev last week i saw an adverb on the road “If you get a cold, You must sit home!!!” I have never seen it before in our country. Now i got a cold and sitting at home !!!

Leave a Reply

