Skip to content

On Being Sick

November 15, 2010

It started on Friday with a little tickle in my throat. Strangely enough, I did not recognize the symptom, or I may have otherwise taken quick evasive action. But alas, I did not realize until late Friday night, that it was coming. So when I left for the bus to Kyiv, in the middle of the night (no lie, I left at 3:15. That’s a.m.) I grabbed the bag of Halls Vitamin C drops that my mom sent me, knowing it was too late already, and off I went.

I was able to keep most everything but the dryness of throat at bay on Saturday, until the bus ride back, when the sneezing and coughing started coming. Not in full force. That is what I awoke to on Sunday morning – sneeze, sneeze, sneeze. I was thinking, “This cold is taking its time to move along the established pattern. Perhaps it will not be a bad one.” More sneezing, still a sore throat and dryness all day Sunday. Though fatigue was also hitting in full force. I remained hopeful that perhaps this cold would be one of those that seems like it will be a bad one, and then ends up weak and only with me a short time.

I was wrong.

This morning I woke up after sleeping for 10 hours and realized it was bad. The ladies had come to my door, as we had agreed on today as cleaning day. When I opened my mouth to ask them to return tomorrow, I realized that my voice has been relocated, who knows where. Perhaps the cold germs scared it away, perhaps it has decided to go elsewhere on vacation for a few days. Either way, it is not in my throat. And today I am supposed to be at the University, working and then conducting an English Club. Should be interesting. I also have to go to the store and buy some juice, which I should have done last night. Thus exposing more people to the germs.

I could wonder how or why I got this cold, but I think I know. Between the weather fluctuations and the exhaustion I was experiencing a week ago, the germs decided my body would be a good place to land. And my body decided it was not such a good place for them to land. My body has gotten very good at fighting sickness over the years – so good I used to get a cold maybe once a year, and had not gotten the flu in many. Until I came to Ukraine. Luckily, I have not gotten the flu, but have had a number of colds. This does not thrill me.

Where’s the chicken soup when I need it? How I dream of matzo ball soup right now – it would make me feel so much better. Not noodles, oh heavens no. Matzo balls, carrots, chicken chunks – that is what I need to help me heal. That and a whole lot of sleep. And someone to tuck me in – oh wait, I have not had that in years. Still one dreams of being taken care of when one is sick.

Let’s be honest – being sick stinks. However – on a counting the blessings note, I am SO glad it is a cold and not the Flu. Being sick stinks, but being sick with the stomach flu, well, that is misery itself.

So I raise my mug of tea this morning to all of those in good health – may it stay with you for a long time!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Heidi permalink
    November 15, 2010 4:08 am

    Ginger, fresh ginger, is supposed to help fend off colds. Grate it and strain it for tea. Run some hot water in a bath with tons of it strained into the bath water. I personally recommend whiskey. As much as you can drink the first 12 hours and I haven’t had a cold in a very very long time… 🙂

  2. November 15, 2010 7:20 pm

    Sorry to hear you have yet another cold. Kayla was diagnosed with strep throat on Friday (missed her first day of school this year). Daylen has been fighting crap for a month now and Brysen has also had a cough. Jeff had a cold that lasted for almost a month. I have somehow managed to stay healthy and germ free so far – Knock on wood!!

    • Mom permalink
      November 16, 2010 12:36 pm

      Mother’s can’t afford to get sick–too many people depending on them. (There has to be some chemical/medical explanation for that as well.) Good luck.

  3. Mom permalink
    November 16, 2010 12:10 pm

    Well, I have it, too. Hit me in the middle of the night. Guess it’s just the season. Hope you feel better soon.

Leave a Reply

