Skip to content

I’m a Star

November 2, 2010

Today I get my photo taken by a professional photographer. It is something I have been resisting for a few weeks, and also happens to be the impetus for the recent haircut – the fact that I was going to have this done made me take a good look in the mirror and admit the truth – long hair just does not look good on me. So off the hair came – a new look for a new assignment.

I also have been avoiding having this photo session because well, I just don’t like to have my photo taken. I would much rather be the person taking a photo than the person in the photo. It has actually turned into a bit of game since I have been at Press Club – when I see a camera aimed at me, I usually try to find a way out of the photo. However, that is getting more difficult – the other day, when we had our press conference marathon (because it was election day), the person walking around taking photos decided that I apparently cut an interesting figure, sitting at my desk, on the computer. So he took a photo. Sigh. It is shown below – isn’t that exciting?

Also, last week at the presentation we gave at the Kirovograd National Technical University, to “announce” my working there, there were a few people taking photos. I was given all of the photos that included me – how kind of them – and here is the best of the photos:

Now, to be sure, I have had worse photos taken. Perhaps that is what brought on this new camera-shyness? Perhaps it is seeing myself get older – I don’t have a problem looking at old photos of myself (even the ones from the 80s). In fact, there is one that I particularly like, from when I was a child:

Wasn’t I cute? Those days are far behind me though…

However, I have been warned, provided fair notice if you will, that I will, as part of Press Club and my association with Vika (who is a former TV journalist) become known in this town and, when attending events, will have my photo taken. Remember that post about champagne, where I had been to a pharmacy “supermarket” opening? They did not catch me with it in my hand (and looking at the camera), but they did manage to get this photo:

So far I have tried to ignore the photos of me that have started showing up on www.kirovograd.net. I think Vika is finding it a fun game to get photos of me to insert into stories where I have been at the event, or if the story is actually about me. Except last week – I got photo credits instead of appearing. I guess I just need to find more opportunities like that one…

So my path to being a minor celebrity has begun – bring on the cameras, I am ready!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Helene Haapala permalink
    November 2, 2010 8:12 am

    Karin, I really like the new haircut.. looks great on you…..

  2. Renate Strina permalink
    November 2, 2010 5:29 pm

    Hi Karin,

    Well, congratulations on your celebrity status! “Roll out the carpet!” No, really – I’m happy for you! And, yes, shorter hair looks good on you! Good luck on your new assignment! Keep the blogs coming to keep us posted – now it’s your duty ***wink smile*** We need to know what’s happening to OUR STAR! ***SMILE***

  3. November 3, 2010 3:32 pm

    I really do think your hair looks better short as well. It is a cute cut!

  4. Lisa permalink
    November 4, 2010 12:11 pm

    I’d suggest even shorter, but you’re going to need some hair insulation for the winter. Enjoy your celebrity.

Leave a Reply

