Skip to content

Creativity in the rain

October 9, 2010

It’s been getting cold here lately, that’s no secret to anyone who has read my blog in the past couple of weeks. I am trying not to whine about the heat not being on yet, as I have a far better living situation than many other volunteers – after all, I have hot water, and a heater I appropriated, to keep me warm. So when Vika asked me to attend an art event, that was organized and conducted by students, today, I said “of course”.

So this morning I donned tights, wool socks, a tank top, turtleneck, fleece, and my jacket. I am holding off on wearing my wool coat, as if I wear it now, what will I wear when it really gets cold? I also brought my ever-present umbrella. I was ready.

So it was that I met Vika, and we arrived at the event. Quite honestly, I think it would be better held in September, before it gets so cold, but tomorrow is the Day of the Artist in Ukraine, so I see the logic in their holding the event today…too bad Mother Nature did not cooperate and provide nicer weather, as so many of the creations at the event were celebrating her beauty.

There were people drawing and painting on fabric, drawing and painting on glass, drawing and painting on paper. They were cutting paper into designs, sculpting, and making “dolls” out of fabric. The only thing that was missing, as I told Vika, were people doing origami (well, that and champagne – see previous post).

There were innumerable hand-made items, some of which were for sale. There were speeches (as usual, at an event here) and people with video cameras. It was not a “large” event, but I considered myself very lucky to have attended and seen what these young people can create.

You see, my creativity lies in writing and photography. I have never had a talent for drawing or sculpting. So when I see what other people are able to create by doing so, I am always impressed.  So even though we were not there very long, I am glad I had the opportunity to witness these young people and their art.

Next event – a football game between some local politicians and a team from Kyiv. I brought my fleece blanket with me, so I am ready.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Jennifer Janis permalink
    October 9, 2010 4:06 am

    It’s not quite so cold here yet..we are experiencing “grandma’s holiday” now- which is the czech term for indian summer. It seems like you are getting to go to quite a few events in town, so lucky. Sometimes I feel like i’m lost in the shuffle here. Or that I’m just another tourist. Hopefully that will change soon as the weather is cooler and I’m much happier in the fall than the summer.

    • October 9, 2010 4:32 am

      Jen – I have been here four months now, and my going to these events has all started in the past week, with Vika!

  2. mostlypake permalink
    October 9, 2010 11:05 am

    I’ve recently subscribed and notice some of your posts are protected. My son is a PCT who just arrived in Ukraine, which is why I’ve begun reading these PC Journals. Is there a reason some of your posts are protected, or are you willing to share the password?

Leave a Reply

