Skip to content

Champagne

October 8, 2010

Now, anyone who knows me knows that I likes me some champagne. In fact, I like it so much that I would consider it my favorite (alcoholic) drink. And I love an occasion to drink it for free.

Luckily for me, getting involved with Rotary here in Kirovograd and also going to events with Vika has given me this opportunity. Like today. Yep, although it is only 12:30 in the afternoon here, I have already had my free champagne of the day. Not long ago, we went to the opening of a new “Pharmacy Supermarket” in town, and they had free hors d’oeuvres, including wine and champagne. Well, that is all I needed.  I bypassed the coffee (which I never drink anyway), the juice, and even the wine. My target resided in the fluted glass, that nectar of the gods, that special bubbly, champagne. I don’t even mind that the companies here violate the Trademark status that the Champagne Region of France has on the name.

What I forgot, however, is that Ukrainians do not like to see you with an empty glass. So I had more than one. The good thing is, the glasses had not been filled to full, so effectively I had just over one glass of champagne.

Perhaps this could be my new hobby – seeking out opportunities in Kirovograd to be able to drink free champagne? This could be interesting, and I am now “tapped in” to someone who knows of many things going on in this city, as she is well-loved and invited to many (if not all) of them.

Interestingly enough, she is a journalist. Tell me how many journalists in the U.S. are well-loved by public figures and politicians…

I also had some nice chocolates, and hoarded a few to share. Ah, chocolate…I will reserve my love for you for another post. For now, this is devoted to champagne. May I find more opportunities for drinking it.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Gail & Sadie permalink
    October 8, 2010 6:25 am

    I loved this post!!! Yes, the Ukrainians do love their bubbly. I drank more champagne there in 3 weeks than I normally do in a year. Take care and keep up the search.

    Gail & Sadie

Leave a Reply

