Skip to content

Poppy Saviour

August 15, 2010

It has been a good couple of days. I got some good news on Friday, which caused me to want to celebrate, so I invited Sophia over for dinner. A few days prior, we had been at Silpo (my favorite grocery store in town) when I smelled chicken…ahhhh…reminded me of the rotisserie chickens in the US, so I figured, let’s splurge and get a chicken (at around 50 UAH, they ARE a splurge). Well, we waited in line for 45 minutes for this. After about 1/2 hour, the first of the chickens were done, and the people ahead of us were taking two or three each! So we did not get one that round. The next round was to be done in 10 minutes…or so we thought. After it was down to 2 minutes, the woman changed the time and added another 1/2 hour! ARGH! So I did not get my rotisserie chicken..ah those little disappointments. We got a couple of pieces and had a good dinner anyway.

On Saturday morning we were walking to the city center and we ran into this crowd in front of the cathedral – CRAZY crowd, and people selling bundles of flowers (most of which were dried), stalks of wheat-ish looking grains, poppy seeds, apples and honey (my Jewish friends will appreciate the irony of that). I had absolutely no clue what was going on, but we entered the grounds of the cathedral, and I was immediately reminded of Easter. People were lined up with their items, and the priests were going down the line with the bucket of water and blessing people, and their items. I took a few photos, and we escaped out of there. It was INSANE crowded and we could not even walk on the sidewalk. Since then I found out that apparently August 14 is “Poppy Saviour” Day (religious holiday, they have a lot of them here) and is apparently related to the harvest…but I am not sure. Can one of my Ukrainian readers please illuminate this for me and everyone else who reads my blog? Much obliged…

I also had an interesting moment this morning. I was just getting out of the shower when someone POUNDED on my door. Well, THAT got my heart going. I answered and wondered what the hell was going on, and found out that in the kitchen downstairs (which is directly below my shower), there was water POURING everywhere. Um, whoops? I told her I did not know why it happened. She brought in the guy who is in charge of the university maintenance, who looked at things and told me he would return tomorrow. This is the second “problem” with my shower – the first was the day I was taking a shower and the faucet suddenly fell off – another whoops. So…I am glad I got the shower this morning, and hope by the end of tomorrow the problem will be fixed so I can get another!

This week is In Service Training in Kyiv…maybe someday I will go to Kyiv and actually get to see some of the things I want to see. As it is, this trip is again dedicated to training. But I am not far from the city, and am sure that my chance will come. After training I hope to visit a friend in Lutsk, where they are going to have some fabulous goings-on next weekend. Just need to figure things out with the workplace…

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Olga permalink
    August 15, 2010 2:15 am

    It’s called МаковІй, МедОвий Спас (14.08) і Яблучний Спас (19.08). I guess this religious fest is connected somehow with Kyivska Rus christening in 988 year by Volodymyr (look at 2 hryvna note🙂
    Priests bless first poppy, then honey and apples. And surely dried flower and grains – this symbolize good harvest too.
    And historically all this is connected with summer farewell. Ukrainians were peasants for thousand years you know) But I’m wonder – in my little town there isn’t any crazy crowd at all.

  2. August 15, 2010 4:33 am

    Olga – Thank you! I knew you would come through for me🙂

  3. Heidi permalink
    August 15, 2010 1:44 pm

    Oooh, I wish you said what good news you got on Friday. : ) It sounds all lovely though. I am glad you are having a nice time.

  4. Lisa permalink
    August 16, 2010 9:32 am

    Hello?? What’s the good news? You deserve all the good things life has to offer. So share, sister! I love reading the blog!

  5. August 16, 2010 11:16 am

    Unfortunately, saying what the good news is would necessitate relating the whole story, which I cannot do on my blog. Suffice it to say, I had a very, very bad couple of weeks.

Leave a Reply

