Skip to content

Hair and there

August 12, 2010

Since I got to Ukraine, and especially since I got to my site, I have been losing hair. A lot of hair. Now, given how much hair I have, it is normal to shed some. But this is getting out of hand. Every time I take a shower, every time I brush or comb my hair, it scares me to see how much is coming out.  I wonder – can this stress be causing me to lose so much hair? When I mentioned it to a Ukrainian friend the other day, she said “oh, because of the water?” It never occurred to me that it could be because of the water…if it is, what can I do about it? I do not want to end up bald, but I have no idea what I can do to slow this down, or prevent it entirely.

Re: the stress. I’ve been having some seriously large challenges here in the past two weeks. Which is the main reason I have not updated the blog, because it is not something I can write about. But love and prayers for things to work out would be much appreciated.

On a completely different topic, yesterday I was on a TV show – it was taped yesterday, but I am not sure when it will air. I asked for a copy of it. There is a big push for pension reform here in Ukraine, and the people on the TV show were discussing it. They asked me a few questions about retirement in America – mainly about Social Security. It was interesting.

After that we took a tour of the most gorgeous spa and gym I have seen. This facility apparently works mainly with women who have cancer, disabled children, and other people with special needs of some sort. We were brought into all the different rooms – ozone therapy (maybe oxygen therapy??), aromatherapy, consultation, aerobics/pilates/yoga, and then…to the exercise facility, with stairmasters, elliptical machines, bikes, and TWO more rooms, one with free weights and the other with new exercise machines. I almost died. They are also building a pool. I was told that a lot of foreigners (they were proud to say from 11 different countries) exercise there and that it is “not expensive.” However, not expensive on a PCV’s budget is relative. I don’t forsee myself joining that gym, but it actually made me miss working out.

THEN I went with Lena to the opening of a new electronics store – think of a mini Best Buy. Really mini. But it was crazy crowded, which really surprised me, until I learned that they were giving away credit so people can buy things. Hmm. I was then even more surprised, as when I was in the US, not so long ago, pretty much no one could get credit…anyway it was interesting to see. Even though we were there for close to 3-1/2 hours for Lena to get her computer…

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Mom permalink
    August 13, 2010 8:10 am

    Karin, as you know, many waters have arsenic in them. You are obviously being poisoned. Contact PC immediately. Do not take this lightly. I love you and want you to stay alive.

  2. Olga permalink
    August 14, 2010 10:53 am

    Oh, water really can cause hair-loss, but not entirely for sure. I guess you’d better consult your doctor, or PC – whatever is more helpful. And maybe you should care more about hair cosmetic, it can help, really.
    Don’t panic anyway! =)

  3. Mom permalink
    August 14, 2010 12:25 pm

    It is not natural for hair to fall out in large amounts. Listen to your Mom.

  4. Olga permalink
    August 15, 2010 2:18 am

    Dear Karin’s Mom! it’s not natural, but it happens everywhere over the Ukraine. This isn’t ecologically clear territory. =(

  5. Gail permalink
    August 15, 2010 6:44 am

    Karin,

    Olya said she lost lots of hair almost all of last year when she returned to Ukraine after being here almost a year. She’s hoping that since she’s back in Minnesota that she will stop losing her hair. I can vouch for the fact that she’s lost hair in the year as she had very thick hair when she left last June and it was noticeably thinner when she returned on Sunday.

  6. August 15, 2010 7:17 am

    Gail – That does not make me feel better! I am worried that I will have no hair left when I return…I am going to ask the doctor about it this week.

Leave a Reply

