Skip to content

Shavuot

May 27, 2010

Written on 22 May 2010

My week, which started out looking a bit slow, has gotten much busier. This past Wednesday was Shavuot, and as Bernie had found out about the local Jewish community, he heard about the Shavuot services which were being held, and we went. It was interesting, to see an American Orthodox rabbi, who clearly is still learning the language, conducting this service. Because it was an Orthodox service, I wore a long skirt and long sleeves, covered my head (and I thought that was interesting because most of the other women there did not), and sat to the side with the women and (most of) the children. I did not realize until then, and the next day, just how much I miss going to services and being a part of that community – whether it is Reform, Conservative, or Orthodox. I was immediately accepted and people were very nice to me, and we went to Kiddush after the service, where I found out that one of the men at the service is the brother-in-law of the school principal in Kyinka – talk about your small world. I was surprised to have found someone who knows someone in my village in such a small Jewish community.

I am a bit behind on the writing, and will try to post again soon…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jennifer Janis permalink
    May 28, 2010 3:47 am

    I have found the same thing whenever I go to mass….it always amazes and reassures me that faith is universal. Though its a different religion..whenever I get myself to church, whether here or when I was in Japan, I always feel so good about it. And always experience some sort of “it’s a small world” moment!

  2. Joanna permalink
    May 31, 2010 3:33 am

    Wanted to say hi, just catching up on your world while resting here in Istanbul…. If you can visit this city it’s amazing!!!

Leave a Reply

