Skip to content

Learning from Mistakes

April 25, 2010

Once again, I must learn the difficult way…this time it was listen to the doctors, do not think things will get better on their own. Without going into a lot of detail that nobody wants to read, I have been having stomach issues for two weeks. The first week I thought, “well, maybe it is my body adjusting…” and this past week it was “okay enough of this.” Yet I waited until the end of the second week of this to call the doctor (this past Friday), by which time I was going downhill rapidly, and sat through class (and a meeting at the school) with a 102  fever, body aches, splitting headache and the original symptom. By the time I got home, I was in tears and my host mom, who had not talked to the doctor yet, was worried, and looking up the word for ‘grief’ in the dictionary – she thought I was homesick. I finally got to the doctor and he explained things to her, by which time I had taken the first dose of antibiotics and crawled, shivering, under one of the quilts on my bed, and just laid there. Three hours later (7:30), the Babusya came in to tell me it was dinner time. Eat? Hell no. I said “я не хочу їсте”, which means “I don’t want to eat,” which did not go over real well with her, so I agreed to have tea. When she left, I pulled out the rest of my bed, changed into pajamas, and went to bed for the night.

Yesterday I spent the day convalescing, and watched movies all day. No kidding – I watched six movies yesterday.

So the lesson in all of this is listen to the doctors and call them early. Don’t do what I did, which was go downhill for two weeks, visibly so in the last day or two, until getting really sick. Call early and prevent it. Not only was I sick, but I was crabby because I was sick, and no one really likes it when people are crabby in class, especially in such a small group.

Well this was not the most upbeat post, but it was honest…

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Gail permalink
    April 25, 2010 5:49 am

    Sorry to hear you’ve been sick – it is so hard to be sick when you’re not at home and just adjusting to something. I probably would have done the same thing you did in those circumstances. Hurry and get well. Love, Gail

  2. Jennifer Janis permalink
    April 25, 2010 4:13 pm

    Don’t worry so much about the feeling sick and not getting it “diagnosised” (god, I can’t spell….) and you’re feeling crappy across to everyone…it happens and I think that they (the people who not only don’t know you, but don’t know your “culture” of being sick) just want you to be “good” and don’t want you to feel sick. Sometimes, the best medicine is being in bed and watching 6 hours of movies!!! It often is the best medicine….but I’m sorry you’re feeling bad. I know how it is to be away from what makes you feel better…
    This is perhaps non-sensical….

  3. JC George permalink
    April 25, 2010 11:16 pm

    Hi Karin,

    So sorry to hear that you were sick. I imagine this came from some sort of food? In Mexico it is either Peel it, Fry it or Forget it… And I am very careful where I eat, in a couple of months I only got caught once, they didn’t wash the carrots well at the Holiday Inn when I drank fresh squeezed carrot juice for breakfast… I will leave out the gory details, but I drank a lot of water and gatorade and flushed it in 2 days… sometimes that’s what you gotta do.

    Hope that you are getting well soon and thinking good thoughts for you,
    jc

  4. April 26, 2010 2:21 pm

    Sorry to hear my sis has been sick. Hope the antibiotics have kicked in and you are feeling better by now. It as really nice to chat with you last week – it really made by day! Take care and hopefully we’ll chat again soon!

    Love ya!

Leave a Reply

