Skip to content

Things are working out

February 25, 2010

So many of you know that in the past month or so I have been really, really stressed out. It seemed as if I was on a roll for things to work out – invite from Peace Corps, the house sold and I closed on it. Then I ran into a brick wall – Wells Fargo.

Now, I used to have a rather high opinion of Wells Fargo. Heck, I worked there a number of years ago and have tried to get back into the company. Then came the house sale, and everything changed.

Suffice it to say, they were not negotiating with me to settle the whole home equity issue. Some of you know the whole story behind it; I don’t really want to go into it anymore. But for a while, things were going nowhere and I was really starting to worry that I would not be able to get things settled in time to go to Ukraine.

Enter Dave Snyder, Community Organizer at Jewish Community Action. I have been doing volunteer work with Dave for a little over a year, on mortgage foreclosure prevention – how ironic that I ended up so close to foreclosure myself. Anyway…Dave contacted a friend of his at Wells Fargo who has some pull.  And eventually, things worked out and yesterday I received an offer for a very reasonable settlement, which I am taking of course. I am sending the check next week to settle the account, and that will be done, and I can get my clearance to go to Ukraine!

I am still kind of in shock about it. Gail, who has kindly housed me for about a month now, came home last night and told me that not only do I sound different, but look  visibly less stressed. I think she is almost more excited than I am, because I am still shocked – I honestly did not think this was going to work out. I was despairing, big time.

And had I not had Dave in my corner, I cannot say that it would in fact have worked out. So I am at this moment very, very grateful for Dave and his assistance.

Now – back to planning for Ukraine – I feel like I am a little bit behind in that, since things got put on hold for a while. But now I am moving forward again. I hope to be able to visit with as many people as possible in the next couple of weeks, before I go out to Hutchinson for the final couple of weeks with my family before I leave.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 25, 2010 9:13 am

    I am so very happy that this worked out for you. I was so sad that all of these roadblocks kept getting in your way. Thank you Dave for helping Karin. 🙂 Congratulations!

  2. Marla Kapperud permalink
    February 25, 2010 9:30 am

    Good morning, Karin…and it sounds like it is not only a good morning but a great morning! I am rhilled and relieved for you. Dave Snyder proved far more helpful than I would have been. (I asked you to contact me after the last blog post.) I had one idea around raising the funds you needed, but it would not have resulted in what you really needed: a reasonable settlement with Wells Fargo.

    I hope it is clear sailing from here on out. I look forward to hearing about your life and work in Ukraine!

    B’virkat Shalom, Marla

  3. February 25, 2010 9:33 am

    Hamdullah.

  4. February 25, 2010 10:53 am

    Marla – Thank you for the note. I did not even see the comment because it was on the old blog, and I did not get notification of it.

  5. Jennifer Janis permalink
    February 25, 2010 11:30 am

    Karin- I am so excited for you!! I had a feeling things would work out, but I too know the feeling of despair that you had and how you just can’t see the light at the end of the tunnel. But now you are through it and on to bigger and better things. Congrats!!! And soak in all the americana you can before you leave, you WILL miss it!

  6. Renate Strina permalink
    February 25, 2010 9:45 pm

    Karin, remember when we chatted on Facebook & I told you I believe in miracles? Well, you have your miracle ***BIG SMILE*** thanks to Dave, but God works through people, so not knowing Dave, I wish to thank him! Good luck to you, Karin in your preparation for leaving to the Ukraine – take care of yourself & return safely!
    God bless, Renate

Leave a Reply

