Skip to content

Killing time and hospital stays

February 2, 2010

I have been thinking that maybe I should post something so people don’t forget about my blog. What has been going on since my last post of any content, which was over on Blogspot?

I have been volunteering, of course. It helps people and it helps me pass time.

I settled in with Gail, who is kind enough to host me until sometime in the beginning of March, when I will go to my parents’ house for the final stretch before I leave for Ukraine. She also brought me with her and her daughter to Ukrainian school. Her daughter goes every Saturday. It must have been a funny sight to see me sitting in the small desk next to these 11 year old kids! It is nice of them to let me sit in, and much appreciated. I need to get back into the swing with learning Ukrainian. It has been such a difficult couple of weeks that I kind of let it go for a little while. Now I really need to buckle down.

I also spent most of last week in two hospitals with my dad. He went into Urgent Care on Tuesday morning and by Tuesday afternoon he was checked in to the hospital.  I ended up bringing him to Abbott Northwestern in Minneapolis on Thursday afternoon because they wanted to perform a procedure for him and did not have the equipment to do it in Hutchinson.  He did not get the procedure done until Friday. Now, this poor man had not eaten anything since Monday. Nothing. So you can imagine that by Friday afternoon he was pretty hungry. He ended up going home on Saturday and is doing well but will need surgery still, in about a month or two.

I have also been shopping. Not too excited about it, truth be told. After being unemployed for two years, and soon leaving for Ukraine for 27 months, there are some things I simply have to buy. But I am none too excited about it. I have purchased things I never thought I would ever purchase, like a compact sleeping bag. I really resisted that, thinking “will I REALLY use this??” Apparently the answer to that question is “yes”. Add that to the fact that because I have not really bought anything for a couple of years, a few things are due for purchase. A lot of things. Sigh.

I have been adjusting to life as I now know it – a bit of a nomad, in a bit of a stasis until I go. Assuming I get to go. My cats are getting adjusted to their new daddy, and he says they are sleeping with him, which is a good thing. I am glad they are adjusting – it eases my mind about that.  I miss them terribly though.

I am also still negotiating with the bank regarding my house – no, selling it was not the end, at least not for me.  So I am now actually trying to chase them down so I can get this off my back and still be able to go. Because of this, things don’t feel “real” re: my going to Ukraine. I am trying to keep the faith that this will all work out. I believe this is why I ended up with an invite for the end of March instead of sometime in February, which was my original nomination date.  I am trusting G-d on this, but still trying to help G-d move things along at the same time. I am trying not to worry. My mantra is “things always work out.” But it always helps to have others on my side, so if anyone actually reads this and wants to send some prayers, positive thoughts or good vibes my way, I am accepting them all.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Marla Kapperud permalink
    February 2, 2010 8:56 pm

    Hi Karin,

    I am on your side. I read every post…if I can access the site. I don’t think I was able to get in to the site before this one. Or maybe I did, which is why I got an email announcing this post.

    What kind of sleeping bag did you buy? I have two sleeping bags, the older one I would be happy to give you. I bought it in 1976 for my trip to Israel to dig at Beer Sheba! It’s not a down bag. It’s polyester and stuffs into a sack. (I don’t know what a compact bag is.) If you need a bag that keeps you warm at 20-30 degrees, this is not the bag for you. I bought a new one about 2 years ago so I would be warm at 20-30 degrees…

    I plan to send an email to a woman who was on my trip to Russia in 1992. At the time we met, she was graduating college with a degree in accounting, I think. She was hired by Cargill and within three years went to Ukraine! She was fluent in Russian. Remember, 1992 hopes were high in Russia, there was great excitement. I told her she would go far with her Russian fluency. She also was passionate about Russian history and wanted to work there. So she fulfilled her dreams at a young age! I worked at Cargill on a short-term contract about a year ago and got her email address. If she’s still in that part of the world, I will give you her contact information.

    I will send prayers for you, that all loose ends get tied and you get on your way. May the bank issue get resolved soon. It sounds like it’s really been an ordeal. While I would not want to go through what you did these last two years, I’m a bit envious of your two year stint with the Peace Corps. I wish I would have known about the Peace Corps when I was just out of college. I think I would have gone for it, but it was outside my field of vision. Rachel Freed and her husband were in Morocco for two years in the late 1960s, I think. What a great experience. And I’m sure you will have an amazing experience as well.

    I hope this posts. I’ve had trouble posting comments, in that the site won’t accept it. I don’t know why.

    Let me know about the sleeping bag. Yes, it’s 33 years old, but it’s clean and had only one owner. It’s been a few places in the world. 🙂

    B’virkat Shalom,

    Marla

  2. Marla Kapperud permalink
    February 2, 2010 9:32 pm

    This video is a must see!

    The video shows the winner of 2009s ” Ukraine’s Got Talent”, Kseniya Simonova, 24, drawing a series of pictures on an illuminated sand table showing how ordinary people were affected by the German invasion during World War II. Her talent, which admittedly is a strange one, is mesmeric to watch.

    The images, projected onto a large screen, moved many in the audience to tears and she won the top prize of about $75,000.

    She begins by creating a scene showing a couple sitting holding hands on a bench under a starry sky, but then warplanes appear and the happy scene is obliterated.

    It is replaced by a woman’s face crying, but then a baby arrives and the woman smiles again. Once again war returns and Miss Simonova throws the sand into chaos from which a young woman’s face appears.

    She quickly becomes an old widow, her face wrinkled and sad, before the image turns into a monument to an Unknown Soldier.

    This outdoor scene becomes framed by a window as if the viewer is looking out on the monument from within a house.

    In the final scene, a mother and child appear inside and a man standing outside, with his hands pressed against the glass, saying goodbye.

    The Great Patriotic War, as it is called in Ukraine , resulted in one in four of the population being killed with eight to 11 million deaths out of a population of 42 million.

    An art critic said: “I find it difficult enough to create art using paper and pencils or paintbrushes, but using sand and fingers is beyond me. The art, especially when the war is used as the subject matter, even brings some audience members to tears. And there’s surely no bigger compliment.”

Leave a Reply

